We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”

I'm Free Walking Tours
Ranked #10 of 288 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Discover Melbourne, on a Free Tour at 10:30am and 2:30pm everyday. Join your friendly and knowledgeable local tour guide as we reveal the history, stories and secrets of Melbourne. This 3 hour easy walking tour meets everyday at the statue of Sir Redmond Barry in front of the State Library of Victoria on Swanston St. Rain, hail or shine, no booking needed, just show up and there will be a guide in a bright green T-shirt to show you around. How are we Free? We work on a tips only basis, so everyone can enjoy Melbourne as much as we do, whatever your budget.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our guide is Angus. Great detail grand Melbourne city tour in 3 hours. Great to stretch your legs after a long flight. Very knowledgable about the city. Highly recommended.

Thank Bonita_cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for coming along. We're pleased you enjoyed Angus' introduction to Melbourne. Enjoy your time in Australia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great tour"
in 150 reviews
"free tour"
in 91 reviews
"state library"
in 76 reviews
"three hours"
in 66 reviews
"minute break"
in 18 reviews
"street art"
in 91 reviews
"great overview"
in 39 reviews
"hour walking tour"
in 24 reviews
"city's history"
in 19 reviews
"informative tour"
in 24 reviews
"lane ways"
in 28 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 24 reviews
"great city"
in 21 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 21 reviews
"your bearings"
in 21 reviews
"visiting melbourne"
in 31 reviews
"ned kelly"
in 24 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our walking tour was led by Laura. The tour was well structured full of interesting historical facts and current Australian culture. Laura had a good clear voice, kept the tour moving and well together with a 10 minute rest break in the middle. Would well recommend this tour to anyone coming to Melbourne.

Thank Ben_Charles_828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for joining Laura's tour. We're glad you enjoyed your local perspective of our city. Thanks for sharing the photo too, Tattersalls Lane looks fabulous in this shot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've done a few free walking tours now and this tour was excellent as expected. Laura our guide was brilliant - guided us safely around a busy city centre and provided us with interesting information about the history of the city, but also some excellent recommendations of things to do and places to eat during our stay. Laura was very easy to get along with and her voice was very loud and clear above the traffic. I would highly recommend this tour but please remember that it's free so ensure you tip your guide as they can make a living.

Thank Alison_Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour with Laura. We agree, we think she is absolutely brilliant. We hope you enjoyed checking out her local recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fun walk around Melbourne for a few hours, but it didn’t feel like it! Got more than a few recommendations for things to do, see, and (most importantly) eat. If you’re even a little bit interested in the history of Melbourne, this is highly recommended!

Thank Mikie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're glad you enjoyed Andreas' perspective of our city. Hopefully you had the chance to check out some of his recommendations. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I’m a local. Though knowing some bits of Melbourne and its history my husband and I still enjoy the tour and get something from it. Our tour guide Desmond is very friendly, humorous and knowledgeable. Will strongly recommend this tour.

Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for joining Desmond's tour. We're glad you and your husband enjoyed getting a different perspective of our city! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed I'm Free Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to I'm Free Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing