We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”

I'm Free Walking Tours
Ranked #10 of 328 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the history, culture and hidden secrets of Melbourne on a free walking tour. Your local tour guide will uncover the best of the city in an easy 3 hour tour, departing every day at 10:30am and 2:30pm. Meet your local guide in green at the Sir Redmond Barry Statue out the front of the State Library of Victoria. We tour every day, rain, hail or shine. No bookings required. How are we Free? Our tours work on a tips only basis. You join us on tour without paying a cent. Allow our local guides to show you the highlights of their city, and you decide at the end what the tour was worth to you. This way, everyone has the opportunity to enjoy Melbourne as much as we do, regardless of their budget, and we can continue to offer tours into the future.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Our guide is Angus. Great detail grand Melbourne city tour in 3 hours. Great to stretch your legs after a long flight. Very knowledgable about the city. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Bonita_cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thanks for coming along. We're pleased you enjoyed Angus' introduction to Melbourne. Enjoy your time in Australia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great tour"
in 193 reviews
"free tour"
in 103 reviews
"minute break"
in 23 reviews
"guide alex"
in 19 reviews
"state library"
in 80 reviews
"hour walking tour"
in 25 reviews
"three hours"
in 68 reviews
"great overview"
in 44 reviews
"street art"
in 97 reviews
"city's history"
in 19 reviews
"fun facts"
in 22 reviews
"informative tour"
in 28 reviews
"lane ways"
in 33 reviews
"great city"
in 25 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 24 reviews
"visiting melbourne"
in 43 reviews
"your bearings"
in 26 reviews
Filter

336 - 340 of 1,978 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Our walking tour was led by Laura. The tour was well structured full of interesting historical facts and current Australian culture. Laura had a good clear voice, kept the tour moving and well together with a 10 minute rest break in the middle. Would well recommend this tour to anyone coming to Melbourne.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ben_Charles_828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thanks for joining Laura's tour. We're glad you enjoyed your local perspective of our city. Thanks for sharing the photo too, Tattersalls Lane looks fabulous in this shot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We've done a few free walking tours now and this tour was excellent as expected. Laura our guide was brilliant - guided us safely around a busy city centre and provided us with interesting information about the history of the city, but also some excellent recommendations of things to do and places to eat during our stay. Laura was very easy to get along with and her voice was very loud and clear above the traffic. I would highly recommend this tour but please remember that it's free so ensure you tip your guide as they can make a living.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Alison_Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thanks for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour with Laura. We agree, we think she is absolutely brilliant. We hope you enjoyed checking out her local recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Fun walk around Melbourne for a few hours, but it didn’t feel like it! Got more than a few recommendations for things to do, see, and (most importantly) eat. If you’re even a little bit interested in the history of Melbourne, this is highly recommended!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mikie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

We're glad you enjoyed Andreas' perspective of our city. Hopefully you had the chance to check out some of his recommendations. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I’m a local. Though knowing some bits of Melbourne and its history my husband and I still enjoy the tour and get something from it. Our tour guide Desmond is very friendly, humorous and knowledgeable. Will strongly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imfreetours, Manager at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thanks for joining Desmond's tour. We're glad you and your husband enjoyed getting a different perspective of our city! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed I'm Free Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to I'm Free Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing