We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots Happening Here!”

Claypots Evening Star
Ranked #384 of 4,645 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$43
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South Melbourne
Description: A kitchen nestled inside a bar. Sit around and graze all day long at Melbourne's oldest market.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

Great seafood, good wine and live music, Claypots ticked all the boxes for us.
We had the Crispy skin Dory, Greek salad and the crispy potatoes all fresh and well cooked. Have a seat at the bar and see how the chef works in confined space right in front of you.
In short loved it and can't wait to head back for the seafood pasta (it looked amazing)

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2017

Limited seating indoor, however, on a good sunny day, sitting outside was very pleasant.
The waitress was very helpful with selecting our dishes, which were all delicious.
We had King Prawn, Calamari, john Dory, Clams, Barramundi wings, green beans and eggplants etc. plus wine to wash our lunch down.
It was a very satisfying lunch !!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank feipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

We love spending a Saturday or Sunday afternoon here enjoying great food and live music. Fantastic spot in the south Melbourne market and in our neighborhood. Music starts at 3pm Saturday and 1.30pm Sunday

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank VickyT_TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

Excellent seafood bar right by the South Melbourne Market, the seafood are super fresh and simple cooking style that brings out the best of them! Services were also very good, quick and courteous and friendly. The only small draw back is that the chef might be slightly in experience, thus my brother's clam starter were over cooked, and over salted. However, both of our main, the grilled fish were perfect.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank chungyumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

If you visit South Melbourne market, make sure ypu visit claypots . If you love fish , this is tjd place . Great food which you can watch being cooked , great wine , great service abc if you are lucky , live music . Couldn't recommend it enough

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Jillo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claypots Evening Star also viewed

 

Been to Claypots Evening Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing