We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,788)
Filter reviews
1,788 results
Traveller rating
241
548
534
271
194
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
548
534
271
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviews collins st southern cross station tram stop short stay cbd transport skybus cafes crown southbank
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,788 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2018

Our room was massive! This could easily be a full time apartment for someone living on their own and plenty of room for two travel companions for five days. Would easily be roomy enough for parents and their child too. There was plenty of space for suitcases and a wardrobe each. The smart layout means you only need to shower in the bathroom: there is water and mirrors outside the bathroom to finish getting ready. Really handy for friends traveling together that want privacy. As a bonus, extra blankets provided but apartment is actually warm enough as is.

The location was perfect. Central enough to walk everywhere around the central city and across to South Bank, just just enough off the beaten track to be quiet. And there were several tram routes just steps from the door (including a direct tram to the chi chi shopping and dining district of Fitzroy).

My only complaints are minor: no hot chocolate provided (but there is a 7/11 just outside the hotel). And the hotel offers a "skip the daily service" option but with nowhere to hang towels, fresh towels daily are a necessity, especially given the wet room style shower, which has a curtain too small to reach both sides of the shower so you end up wetting all the towels provided if there are two people showering.

Room tip: One bedroom apartment is more like 1.5 bedrooms with an alcove for the second bed.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nzcowlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksOnCollins, Front Office Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear nzcowlady

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. This also helps our future guests when considering Oaks for their future stays.
I am pleased to hear the way you enjoyed your stay in our apartments with all the amenities we provide. And also for your information we do have a restaurant in level 1 where can get a nice cup of hot chocolate and we do offer the green clean option for our guests, but all of our guests are welcome to contact our reception team operated 24 hours which is one call away for a request of fresh towels. Myself and the reception team would love to welcome you again at Oaks on Collins during your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Very impressive Hotel and location. Close to all popular Melbourne Tourist places of interest.Within walking distance to Southbank eating places. Also close to Crown Casino and DFO shopping.Nice outlook from high floors of Yarra River

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traveler31960822082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksOnCollins, Front Office Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor on your stay at Oaks on Collins.
I am glad you found the location of our hotel was very convenient for your stay, as you have mentioned it is walking distance for lots of shops, restaurants, tram stops and Southern cross train station.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again at Oaks on Collins on your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Come on guys . Was ment to be an upgrade of a room . Shower door came off rail . Mold everywhere around the skirtjng bords . Very dissatisfied. Might give the oaks a miss next ri.e im in town . Cheeer

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoPlaces739574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksOnCollins, Front Office Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018


Dear GoPlaces739574

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review on Trip advisor. We always have positive approach towards guest feedback, this will allow us to rectify the issues and to provide a better service in the future. We hope this has not permanently tarnished your image on Oaks on Collins and you give us an opportunity to change your mind from a "Don't" to a "Do"
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The Oaks On Collins is a nice clean hotel with a location that is fantastic. Would highly recommend staying here. The staff are very nice and the rooms are nice and spacious and the room and bathroom are clean and spacious.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allyprue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksOnCollins, Front Office Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Allyprue

Thank you very much for your great feedback on Trip advisor on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins. I am most pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and you found our rooms were clean and the location was fantastic. This will also give a good picture about Oaks on Collins for future bookings.
I hope we would get another chance to welcoming you again at Oaks on Collins during your next trip to Melbourne.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We really liked the hotel location. Near the central CBS shops and casino. Not far from Victoria markets too. Has a kitchen area which we did not use but handy. Bathroom area was very small like a big wardrobe.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marla2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksOnCollins, Front Office Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review on Trip advisor.
I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel location very convenient. We do get lots of comments about our location as it is centrally located in the CBD.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again at Oaks on Collins during your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews