We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed...”
Review of Citiclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citiclub Hotel
Ranked #151 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had a late arrival from Tullamarine and decided to stay in the city. Little did we realise it was built above a night club which did not shut down until about 3am. Check in staff did not advide about which level was the reception, so coming out of the elevator at the floor prior to where I was meant to go, turned out to be the middle of the night club.

Room was untidy, quilt was dirty, not vacuumed and much mold in the bathroom. Tiles were cracked and curtains had burnt edges.

Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tegan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the 1/03/2012. $99 wotif special. The hotel and service was fantastic from initial check in. Very friendly staff. had to check out very early was offered free breakfast but i declined but was offered a take away breakfast this included a small box of cornflakes, UHT milk, a Carmans Muesli bar and a bottle of orange juice. I was very happy.
The hotel is in need of a little TLC the lifts are dated and could use an upgrade.
The rooms, linen, towels were spotless and cleaning staff very very friendly. The rooms could use a little TLC as well (showing signs of wear and tear) a coat of paint would work wonders. It was quite good overall. i have absolutely no complaints. the location in my opinion is really good a short stroll to all attractions. I stayed on a Thursday night so i was unable to experience the noise of the nightclub. otherwise the room was silent and i would certainly book again.

Room Tip: Had room 715 NW corner. Was the furthest room away from the night club and main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddio_iglesius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a night. What a disappointment. Absolutely no value for money - they charged high prices as the tennis was on and hotel space was at a premium.

The room is tiny. The carpet is dirty and the bed cover had food stains on it. The bathroom had cracked tiles and the water taps did not close easily. The lighting in the room is poor and there is a sliver of a window for natural light. The matress was worn out and collapsed towards the middel.

They have a nightclub downstairs - if you stay there over the weekend the sound permeates the whole place. The gym and suana is dirty - decided not to use either.

There are better places at more reasonable prices in Melbourne. We will not be going back at any price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had booked the Citiclub Hotel as last minute accomodation absolutely nothing was available for the Saturday night because i had left my booking so late. We paid $150 twin room breakfast included. After I had booked I realised about the night club downstairs on my reciept, Oh well at least we would have a room. On arrival there was a lot of commotion in the lobby, as I learned later on while i was waiting for hubby to park the car, there had been a break in by 3 Mauri men and a purse had been taken, (in the hotel staff words to each other) and they could be still in the building the police had been called but would be there in the next half hour. All this i overheard nothing was told to me personally I was very very unsettled. Finally hubby came back with the keys we went to our room finding it totally messed up and used. I felt sick by this and went back to the lobby, to get another room key. An apology accepted with a room upgrade and a bottle of champagne in 5 min delivered to our room. Unclear about the actuall room upgrade as it looked same same. But it was CLEAN and MADE UP! We got ready for our evening one after the other expecting the arrival of champagne to our door. It never came. The shower tap fell off as i turned it on, You didnt need to add any cold water the hot was medium warm. The furniture had been well worn too. However this room was very clean. We went back down to the lobby to organise a taxi and was told if we did it ourselves it would be quicker and also the champagne would be in our room on our arrival back to our room. My husband stood in the pouring rain and hailed us a taxi. This is so unproffesional from a Hotel of any standard. The next morning still no Champagne an extra car parking fee of $24 we had our breaky and got out of there! I emailed the hotel about our stay and they offered us a free room upgrade with a discounted price however we will never go back. There was no apology. The lack of proffesionalism, care and customer service was just appalling. BTW The noise from night club was fine no different to most noise heard in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a Sunday night in November. Check-in was quick, room was clean. The nightclub downstairs was in operation but the room was on the 7th floor and I could only here the bass very very faintly. For $99 per night including breakfast I think this was a great deal. Only complaint was the hot water in shower - it's not that hot.

Room Tip: Higher floors on Fri / Sat / Sun nights when nightclub is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose_J8711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed last Friday night and was a bit worried when I read all the reviews about the club downstairs. After staying the night, I have to say I could understand why they have those concerns, however I knew and expected it so it wasnt much of a surprise.
I checked in around 12.30am when the club was opening and I had to go through the backway (near the carpark) so the guests of the club uses the front door with bouncers guarding it. This would be off-putting if you dont know the hotel shares with a club.
The foyer was small and more of a 2-3star hotel, but the room itself was actually pretty good (3.5 stars) with 4 star qualities like nice tiles, clean bathroom, comfortable bed, pretty big room, room service and mini bar.
Thankfully the noise wasnt too bad for me. I was on the 7th floor (top floor) and could hear some faint club noises after you turn off the TV. But honestly, it would only affect you if you are not a light sleeper.
The location was great, only 1 block from Bourke st mall, 1min walk to trams, and 5-10min walk to Flinders and Southern Cross station.
I paid $99 for the night and it came with buffet breakfast and late checkout.
I think it was incredible value.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, dont stay here on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

besides location.. dont stay! not helpful, rude, unwilling to help customers, would never come back!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank hayley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#144 of 161 in Melbourne
250 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#105 of 161 in Melbourne
483 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#134 of 161 in Melbourne
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
#146 of 161 in Melbourne
331 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
1,206 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#150 of 161 in Melbourne
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citiclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiclub Hotel

Address: 113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $101 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citiclub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, there are an abundance of activities around Citiclub Hotel. From shopping on Bourke Street Mall & Collins Street to outdoor dining along Southbank or the stunning Docklands. Only minutes from Melbourne's main attractions such as: Federation Square, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium, MCG, Melbourne Observation Deck, Queen Victoria Market, Crown casino, shopping precincts and much more. Located within the CQ Melbourne complex, all your business, conference & leisure needs will be looked after. Our facilities include: Lanai Bar & Restaurant, CQ Bar and CQ Functions. Please note that Citiclub Hotel is a non-smoking property. There are no smoking rooms or areas within the building. Due to CQ Nightclub being open on Friday and Saturday nights and Public Holiday Eves, our rooms will be subject to highly elevated noise levels. We also have private functions which may run midweek and may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts. Staying at Citiclub Hotel Melbourne does not include club/bar entrance. All patrons are required to line up in an orderly manner and pay entrance fees. Entry is subject to security approval. Upon check-in, all guests are required to present a current photo ID as well as a valid credit card for a pre-authorisation swipe of $100 (Card holder must be present on check in. Funds must be available to be approved). NO CASH BONDS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Citiclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citiclub Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing