We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get”
Review of Citiclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citiclub Hotel
Ranked #151 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 10 August 2017

For what you pay this is great budget accommodation well located with everything within a short walk. Staff are always friendly and willing to help. As long as you don't expect rainbows and can deal with the aged and dating decor, bathrooms and the noise on a weekend when the bar is in full swing its a great cheap spot to park in Melbourne.

Room Tip: better rooms top floors facing Queen St will see less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannp984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to receive positive feedback that let's us know we are providing a good service.
We look forward to seeing you in future.

Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Staff, room and location was great. Staff are very friendly and willing to help out with anything. Location to trams and Bourke Street mall is great. The only down side is the night club next door. Our room was on the 7th floor and the base was pumping until around about 5am on Sunday. Ensure you bring ear plugs and close the blinds, otherwise slept through it all on Friday and Saturday night.
Breakfast was included in our price and is actually a pack that you pick up from reception. Was thinking it was a breakfast restaurant that you sit at. We decided not to take it but could exchange it for 20GB of internet that lasts for 24 hours or a bottle of red or white wine. Which unfortunately the red was not to our taste, see attached photo. Room had its own lounge room, bed in another room, two TVs and there was a spa bath in the bathroom. But only great for short people. The place does look like it needs to be renovated, a few things in the bathroom that needed repairing and stains on the carpet, also noticed the testing on the electrical plugs was back in 2002.
The place isn't perfect, but the location was what made it great. Central to everything just don't forget the ear plugs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to receive positive feedback that let's us know we are providing a good service.
We look forward to seeing you in future.

Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Our flight got cancelled so we needed a quick and cheap hotel. The room was very basic, poor lighting and very tacky. Only good thing about this hotel is the location being on Queen Street.
Great Irish pub close by, the Irish times that is worth a visit

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We regret your stay with us was less than pleasant because of the noise level from the nite club. However, all our rooms are advertised with the “highly elevated noise levels” notice. Cancellation policy for most third party website is 72hr cancellation or no cancellation/no changes.

Yours Sincerely,

Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in s great location but above a nightclub . On Saturday night it really rocks - so if you don't want to hear and feel the rooms pulsing all night and patrons vomiting in the alleyways - it might not be for you . My room was 5 floors up and it was still loud .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank ozsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We regret your stay with us was less than pleasant because of the noise level from the nite club. However, all our rooms are advertised with the “highly elevated noise levels” notice. We do apologise that our staff could not be more accommodating at the time. Cancellation policy for most third party website is 72hr cancellation or no cancellation/no changes. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discount

Yours Sincerely,

Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic. Staff were great, very friendly and accommodating. I call ed the day before stay to ensure everything was set, informed them i would like to drop my bags off early as we had a early flight and had a back operation 3 days ago. Arrived at 1130am to drop bags and walk the city until check in, bit they had a better idea. They had our room ready early and allowed us to check in early at no cost and upgraded our room for free....... fantastic.... allowed me to rest a little before heading back out. Could not of asked for a better result. Check out was quick and easy, staff always very polite and friendly. And were happy to hold our bags after checkout at 10am as we had a late afternoon flight, saved us from walking Melbourne with my partner carrying all the bags as I couldn't.

If you are worried about night club noise......it did not keep us up at all. But do your research, before slamming the hotel. I saw they had a nightclub when booking, it was not kept a secret. If you are worried book else where or ask if tgere is a room at tge far end away from club. The hotel is priced very well and is also lower than others to accomodate for the nightclub noise intrusion being a possibilty. Will happily stay there again and refer people to them. Fantasic location too. Loved it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your stay here at Citiclub Hotel.
We are extremely glad that you have enjoyed yourselves here, it is always our aim as service providers to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


Citiclub Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here even if it were the last option left. We stayed at the Citiclub on Queen st, Melbourne CBD. The issue we had were as follows:
1. Our air conditioner in our room did not work and we spent the first night absolutely shivering
2. There was no instructions on the room phone on how to contact reception. I asked staff the next morning and they had no idea how to dial reception from the room and said there should be a sticker on the phone with instructions. This was missing.
3. We stayed over the weekend and were on level 5. Notwithstanding this, the music from the club downstairs was physically shaking the photo frames in the room and sleep was hard to achieve.
4. The staff lacked professionalism and were uninterested in providing customer satisfaction.
5. It has been 3 weeks since my visit and I have still yet to receive my $100 holding deposit from citiclub. It should take 3-5 days to refund. However I have made 3 separate phone calls and advised them of this and on each occasion they said they would contact my bank to release the funds and email a copy of same correspondence. Only on my third call to them did they finally action this.

Overall, would definitely not return and would advise all family and friends of the above.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback and regret that the accommodation provided did not meet your expectations. We check our rooms daily for any maintenance issues and such faults as these, if missed are rectified once bought to our attention. The presence of the onsite nightclub means that noise levels can be highly elevated on weekend and public holiday eves.
Midweek private functions may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts.

Thank you again for your review

Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, good room central location but .............! Should have investigated more thoroughly as noise from night club incredibly loud even with ear plugs, pillows over head and a good stiff drink before attempting sleep. Noise went on until after 4am so next night we moved out to another hotel for the night and then came back! It was all about the base, the base! Don't even contemplate this hotel on a Friday or Saturday night - the rest of week ok.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We regret your stay with us was less than pleasant because of the noise level from the nite club. However, all our rooms are advertised on Hotel website and Third party websites with the “highly elevated noise levels” notice.

Thank you.
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#104 of 161 in Melbourne
518 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
1,225 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#134 of 161 in Melbourne
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#141 of 161 in Melbourne
255 reviews
Bayview On The Park
#133 of 161 in Melbourne
931 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citiclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiclub Hotel

Address: 113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $102 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citiclub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, there are an abundance of activities around Citiclub Hotel. From shopping on Bourke Street Mall & Collins Street to outdoor dining along Southbank or the stunning Docklands. Only minutes from Melbourne's main attractions such as: Federation Square, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium, MCG, Melbourne Observation Deck, Queen Victoria Market, Crown casino, shopping precincts and much more. Located within the CQ Melbourne complex, all your business, conference & leisure needs will be looked after. Our facilities include: Lanai Bar & Restaurant, CQ Bar and CQ Functions. Please note that Citiclub Hotel is a non-smoking property. There are no smoking rooms or areas within the building. Due to CQ Nightclub being open on Friday and Saturday nights and Public Holiday Eves, our rooms will be subject to highly elevated noise levels. We also have private functions which may run midweek and may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts. Staying at Citiclub Hotel Melbourne does not include club/bar entrance. All patrons are required to line up in an orderly manner and pay entrance fees. Entry is subject to security approval. Upon check-in, all guests are required to present a current photo ID as well as a valid credit card for a pre-authorisation swipe of $100 (Card holder must be present on check in. Funds must be available to be approved). NO CASH BONDS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Citiclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citiclub Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing