We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want to sleep”
Review of Citiclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citiclub Hotel
Ranked #151 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Booked this room via Wotif and there most definitely WAS NOT any warning about about a nightclub that plays thumping music till 5am being right underneath. Didn't sleep at all. Reception rude & unhelpful. When my TV wouldn't work they sent the SECURITY GUARD to have a look at it. He was useful though - apparently the dodgy TVs they have stop working if you try to charge your phone on its USB port!

Room Tip: Maybe the very top floor? 4th floor was like being inside the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. It's always great to receive positive or negative feedback from guests. In regards to nite club noise all rooms are advertised with the “Please note that the presence of the onsite nightclub means that noise levels can be highly elevated on weekend and public holiday eves.
Midweek private functions may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts” notice. We thank you for comments and we will endeavour provide better service.

Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Ok so by citiCLUB they mean CLUB !! It’s downstairs and pumps till 3-4am and don’t get me wrong they play some good rap , RNB but if you wanna sleep this isn’t the place ..the girls at the front counter where rude !! $100 bond on card you get back about a week later !! My room was so small and plain !! My bathroom was so small I could have gone to the toilet and had a shower at the same time no joke !! Now iv stayed in some dark scary Melbourne hotels but none of them were like this !! Please don’t stay here with children we woken by the couple in the room next door the walls were paper thin and we heard EVERYTHING !! I won’t say anything else but nooo unless you wanna party !!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, General Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. All websites we are listed with state that you will need a valid ID is required upon check in and a Credit card is also required on check in for $100 Pre-Authorisation. NO CASH BOND is accepted. The presence of the onsite nightclub means that noise levels can be highly elevated on weekend and public holiday eves. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts. Thank you again for your review.

Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

4.25 am the thumping noise like monkey banging drums. Subwoofers vibrations. The CitiClub has a 24 hour licence which enables it to do whatever it wants and ignore its paying guests,.. I would imagine its neighbors creating a little slice of hell. Why not stay in the hotel for a peaceful get away or a business trip but pay to get no sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. It's always great to receive positive or negative feedback from guests. In regards to nite club noise all rooms are advertised with the “Please note that the presence of the onsite nightclub means that noise levels can be highly elevated on weekend and public holiday eves.
Midweek private functions may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts” notice. We thank you for comments and we will endeavour provide better service.

Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We're staying here on a Wednesday night on level 5 of 7 and the sound from the night club is so loud we're struggling to hear the TV. Don't stay here if you want to sleep. There's a drum group performing and it sounds like a great club that they must prioritise over the hotel. Definitely not a weekend only problem. Stay anywhere else if you want to sleep. Anywhere. However, if you want to go to a club, it sounds great from our room! Everyone sounds like they're having a great time! Give it a go! Just don't stay at the hotel!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank hboriginal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We regret your stay with us was less than pleasant because of the noise level from the nite club. However, all our rooms are advertised with the “highly elevated noise levels” notice. Cancellation policy for most third party website is 72hr cancellation or no cancellation/no changes.

Yours Sincerely,

Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

I traveled to Melbourne solo to attend a wedding, arriving at 7am in the morning on a Friday after a red eye flight.
The room was ready for an early arrival and the staff didn't hesitate with checking me in early which allowed me to be refreshed in the afternoon.
Yes the decor was a little dated (particularly the hallways) but the room was spacious and clean, so for the price I'm wasn't bothered. The room has good heating/aircon and temperature was very comfortable during my 3 days.

On the Saturday i did hear noise from the club below but it didn't keep me up for long and I fell asleep easily. Staff were super nice, even lending me a fork when my food takeaway didn't supply me with one, and offered a late check out until 12 as my return flight was at 1pm.

For the price and location I'd definitely recommend. It's not glamorous, but it is comfortable and well priced.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank PerthGirlKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your stay here at Citiclub Hotel. We are extremely glad that you have enjoyed yourselves here, it is always our aim as service providers to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Thank you,
Citiclub Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I have stayed in many hotels in and around the Melbourne area. This hotel is by far the worst one I have ever stayed at. I tried to have an early night on a Friday night after a long week and as the hotel is on top of a nightclub, music was blasting and I could not get any rest. I ended up having to leave the hotel at about 1am cause the noise was so unbearable. Ended up getting another hotel which was a lot better. Would not recommended this hotel in a million years.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback and regret that the accommodation provided did not meet your expectations. .
As a Hotel we do our best to make people aware by having it clearly stated on all booking listings with the "Please note that the presence of the onsite nightclub means that noise levels can be highly elevated on weekend and public holiday eves.
Midweek private functions may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts". We thank you for comments and we will endeavour provide better service
Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

For what you pay this is great budget accommodation well located with everything within a short walk. Staff are always friendly and willing to help. As long as you don't expect rainbows and can deal with the aged and dating decor, bathrooms and the noise on a weekend when the bar is in full swing its a great cheap spot to park in Melbourne.

Room Tip: better rooms top floors facing Queen St will see less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannp984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiticlubHotel, Front Office Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to receive positive feedback that let's us know we are providing a good service.
We look forward to seeing you in future.

Thank you
Citiclub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#104 of 161 in Melbourne
521 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#134 of 161 in Melbourne
673 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
#145 of 161 in Melbourne
336 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#141 of 161 in Melbourne
256 reviews
Bayview On The Park
#132 of 161 in Melbourne
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citiclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiclub Hotel

Address: 113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $99 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citiclub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, there are an abundance of activities around Citiclub Hotel. From shopping on Bourke Street Mall & Collins Street to outdoor dining along Southbank or the stunning Docklands. Only minutes from Melbourne's main attractions such as: Federation Square, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium, MCG, Melbourne Observation Deck, Queen Victoria Market, Crown casino, shopping precincts and much more. Located within the CQ Melbourne complex, all your business, conference & leisure needs will be looked after. Our facilities include: Lanai Bar & Restaurant, CQ Bar and CQ Functions. Please note that Citiclub Hotel is a non-smoking property. There are no smoking rooms or areas within the building. Due to CQ Nightclub being open on Friday and Saturday nights and Public Holiday Eves, our rooms will be subject to highly elevated noise levels. We also have private functions which may run midweek and may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts. Staying at Citiclub Hotel Melbourne does not include club/bar entrance. All patrons are required to line up in an orderly manner and pay entrance fees. Entry is subject to security approval. Upon check-in, all guests are required to present a current photo ID as well as a valid credit card for a pre-authorisation swipe of $100 (Card holder must be present on check in. Funds must be available to be approved). NO CASH BONDS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Citiclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citiclub Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing