We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved every minute and mouthful!”
Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
Ranked #76 of 4,649 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$108 - US$180
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed November 9, 2017

A romantic setting for couples rather than groups. The food is art and prepared for visual and tasting delight. Ideal for a special occasion as the staff are attentive and wonderful. If you are looking for a fine dining experience where you can linger and savour the experience then this is the place to go. The views at night were amazing, and this is a must for special occasions and celebrations.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2017

from the moment you get greeted at the reception, to the waiting area, the views at the top, to the excellent service, the food experience is just amazing amazing amazing..

fine dining at its very best in Melbourne and the concept, presentation, pairing of food to drink and the multiple texture and flavors introduced.

a must visit for anyone who appreciates great food experience taken to another level combined with excellent australian service.

to visit, making a reservation way in advance is strongly recommended!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiaBoHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

...after more than a decade, Vue de Monde still shines brightly. Pamper yourself and someone you love! PS; the cocktail list is a bit special too...

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

celebrated a birthday with family, amazing ambiance, service quality, menu was plentiful and presented beautifully

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank vspina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

A group of 8 friends went to this restaurant in the Rialto building on 55th floor. At first glance decor looked like an unloved pool hall, black floor, black tables no adornments at all of luxury , this was less than minimalist . I was not impressed. The Kitchen is a major focus of the restaurant and open, quite close to tables of diners which meant we were all exposed to cooking smells and the noise of chefs barking orders at every one. This is a very expensive supposedly fine dining restaurant. The wine list is expensive mark up on wines I would suggest is about 8 x bottle shop prices, a reasobable bottle of wine will set you back $180-220. The food is tricky and pretentious. We ate the Australian cost of arms, kangaroo and emu. Raw lamb with peas etc. We started ordering at 7.15 and we left at 11.30 pm and hadn't had desert yet. The deaugustation is about 11 or 12 small courses. The highlight for me was the bread on a stick, Waygu beef, and cheese platter. I wouldn't go back , the views are sensational , but food is not serious enough for me. Reminds me of Attica for similar reasons. I won't go back it's just not my style. Fine dining to me is elegance, and quality food cooked simply. On a positive note the staff were excellent.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank geecee2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing