We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aria Favourite Southbank
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Location is great, a favourite location, just behind Southbank, a short walk to Crown. We were a family of 5 staying in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment, our 16 year old sleeping on a rollaway bed which was initially located right in the hall walkway but luckily we were able to move it to a more suitable location for a bit of privacy.

The apartment was not as spacious as we are used to in Melbourne, ultimately this is quite an old apartment building which has been 'renovated'. There was a very small couch which barely fit 3 people and was so uncomfortable it was teeth gritting to have to sit on. Despite it being advertised that there would be a television in the master suite, there wasn't ! The television in the living room was only 32inch.

Unfortunately the cleanliness was very poor which was the major let down for our stay. The utensil drawsers had crumbs in them and the utensils were not clean, the microwave was smeary on the front, the toilet in the main bathroom was not clean, the bath had dust on the top of it and the mirror in the main living room was not clean. Also, the carpet did not look like it had been vacuumed, and the last visitor's used soap and shampoo was still sitting on top of the showerhead !!!

Sorry but we can't recommend the apartment based on the price we paid, compared to the value we got.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jazz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Very pleasant stay with the family. Staff were friendly and courteous. Kids loved the lap pool but it is an extra charge to use. Lovely views, comfy beds, would be good for longer stays as there’s a kitchen and washing machine ❤️

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chanelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I read the reviews here before booking. I now wish I had taken notice of some of the negative comments. I stayed here because it was in the perfect location for a business meeting I was attending.

My account was to be charged back to my travel agent. This was confirmed on check-in. They still required me to give my credit card for a bond. They requested pre-authorisation for $100 which I gave. They assured me my card wouldn't be charged.

On check out I was told that my bill would be charged back to the travel agent as advised. Next day I see my credit card has been charged for the full amount of the accommodation. I tried to call but only got an answering machine. One week later I am STILL chasing up a refund. Extremely annoying and a waste of time having to get this fixed. No apology. Makes me wonder if they hope guests won't notice the charge sliding through. Never staying here again.

Besides this, the wi-fi was absolutely pathetic which made working during my business trip frustrating and difficult.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing City Road at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreakfastAtTiffanys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed overnight for a concert at The Plenary. The location is great with a short walk to the Casino and river.We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment & the room was spacious with a reasonable size balcony. The check in & checkout staff were very friendly & helpful. The price was very reasonable. However,we would only stay here again if we didn't need parking. The car park is extremely narrow and as another reviewer said like a spiral staircase! We have a small car,but it was difficult!
Good luck if you attempt it in anything larger than a Corolla!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed for a business trip room service only changed towels didn't replace shampoo etc. Room was clean and spacious and location was suitable.
The most annoying thing however was they did not release my excessive security deposit of $200. I had to email - nothing happened, when I eventually called reservations they answered their phone - what a surprise and said they would send the fax to release my deposit nine days after checking out. I am still waiting for the funds to be released into my account.
Very unimpressed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J6778JOanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed here for 3 weeks. The apartments are large and spacious. Fully equipped with washing machine and all necessities for a comfortable stay. Location is also perfect. The tram stop is located literally at the hotel entrance . The staff are all very helpful.we are already booked for 2018

Stayed: February 2017
Thank sylvawaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Owner at Aria Favourite Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

That's is such a great review - thank you so much. We are the largest apartments in Southbank so we think longer stays appreciate the space. Thanks for making your next booking with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Got a good rate for this property. It was kind of old; the air conditioner didn't work well and they use physical keys. However, the facillities were nice, including a washer/dryer. Comfortable bed. Only one person at front desk, had to wait multiple times. Major problem occurred when we left -- my medication was left behind. When I called thm hotel, I was informed that their policy was to throw away medication, without even contacting the clients, whose phone numbers they keep on file. I was left in a foreign country with no way of refilling my medication; slight help from the company would have relieved my agony. So, despite otherwise reasonable service, I recommend against this company. There are better alternatives nearby. I recommend the Punthill, several blocks North, with a better staff, newer, superior apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
2,021 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Mantra St Kilda Road
#66 of 161 in Melbourne
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#45 of 161 in Melbourne
605 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Southbank
Imagine Marco
Imagine Marco
#71 of 161 in Melbourne
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Favourite Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Favourite Southbank

Address: 285 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $149 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Favourite Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at 285 City Road in Melbourne’s Southbank precinct, our “Favourite” range offers modern and spacious 4.5 star apartments, which showcases our passion for local art and style, and evoke a feeling beyond aesthetics. Choose from 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and stunning views of Melbourne, and enjoy all the creature comforts of home with the added benefits of a hotel. 24/7 reception, room service, daily housekeeping and onsite car parking are just the beginning! Our seamless delivery of personalised service and shared local ‘secrets’ ensure our guests experience a crafted, bespoke stay. Let us surprise and delight you when you stay with Aria Hotel Apartments. We also offer our “Style” 4-star accommodation range next door at 283 City Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aria Favourite Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing