We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Budget Accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments of South Yarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments of South Yarra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value Budget Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Here is a little gem of a place to stay if you know what you are after.

We have a toddler and so our requirements were quite specific. We wanted a place that had a kitchen, fridge & freezer, clean, good location, parking and cheap. What we didn't need was facilities such as Pool, Gym or room services and this place fitted our needs perfectly. If you plan to stay for extended periods in your room or in a hotel then this is not the place for you.

The best thing about this place is the location. Right in the middle of South Yarra, You can choose to eat out every night at a good restaurant or walk down to the local supermarket. Also the centrality of South Yarra made it convenient for driving around Melbourne. If you don't drive, the hotel is located within 5 mins walking distance of Rail and Tram lines without being too close to hear either.

Things that could do with a little work includes the older furniture and a CRT TV which did not include the new free additional HD TV Channels let alone Foxtel. Personally, neither of these two overly concerned us as we were predominantly out of the room.

The rooms seem to have been converted from single bedroom apartments at some time and is surrounded by other local apartment blocks.

Overall, a much recommended place to stay on a budget. Infact, I think you would be much pressed to find better for that price so close to the City.

D

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    43
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
46
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco / Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

I wanted a reasonably priced place to stay in a central location so I booked the Apartments of South Yarra.

Unfortunately the place is just not clean or well maintained. Just a few of the maintenance / cleanliness issues:

*the furniture was dusty: especially the drawers
*the shower tiles were moldy
*the corners and edges of the bathroom floor were dingy
*the small containers of milk in the fridge provided for tea / coffee were spoiled
*the toilet did not flush properly
*the laundry room in the building was a dusty mess

I reported these issues to the front desk, which resulted in 2 different gentlemen appearing at my door to inspect and ask about the problems. The man in charge of maintenance was surly. The assistant manager was nicer, but the result was little to no improvement. They just sent someone on the cleaning staff to take care of 3 specific problems (dusty furniture, moldy tiles, spoiled milk), but really the place just needed a thorough cleaning and more attention to detail. I was not offered any other compensation or discount.

Cleanliness is important to me when I choose a place to stay. I wish it was equally important to the management and staff of Ap-artments of South Yarra.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShailaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at South Yarra apartments in October. We were extremely happy with everything about the accommodation. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment that had a full kitchen and it was perfect for us. The bedroom and living area were a nice size and the kitchen had everything we needed. It was extremely clean and the free wired internet was a definite plus. We didn't have a car, but the apartment also came with free parking.

You have to check in at a nearby hotel and then walk to the apartments. Not too far but be prepared to carry your bags a few blocks. The South Yarra area had lots of restaurants, cafes, and shopping and I would definitely recommend staying here. The CBD is only 2 train stops away.

Location, cleanliness, internet, kitchen...couldn't ask for much more!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We were a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids (11 & 15). What attracted us was the location to avoid having to rent a car. It did the trick. It was a true fully furnished apartment. In the end we did rent a car and were pleasantly happy that a parking pass was provided for our car for off-street parking near the building. As mentioned by the other traveller you are surrounded by everything: restaurants, shops, groceries, and public transit. The train/bus/tram are litterally a stones throw. The train station is a mere 2 stops from the CBD (Central Business District). You will see that often "CBD" in literature.

While it is not a 5 star hotel it is clean and well maintained. Our unit (#7) was a ground floor unit. Great since we did not have to carry suitcases up and down the exterior stairs.
The closed bedroom housed the bathroom (shower stall only). The kitchen had all that is required, including usual needs (sugar, coffee, etc..). Kitchen table with 4 chairs. It also had free internet... Pretty nice in this day and age when all big name hotels charge you for internet. The kids slept in the hide-a-bed in the living room. TV in bedroom & living room. Except for a minor ant problem in the bathroom on the last day the stay was flawless.

Because we were mostly touring the city, it made for a great place to sleep since it was accesible from the train, etc...

As said by the other person, you have to check in and out at another address down the street. That address is on a busy street. no parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wTavcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

I stayed in this hotel twice in 2008. Its a great little place to stay while in Melbourne. Its just off Chapel Street, which is a great place to shop, eat and drink. St Kilda is just round the corner and the city near by. You also get high power internet free in the room which is very handy.The only bad point is you have to check in at another hotel about 5 mins walk away. The staff are very helpfull and would recoment this place to anyone

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seano100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#35 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Chapel Street
Oaks South Yarra
Oaks South Yarra
#25 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
District South Yarra
#4 of 26 in Yarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments of South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments of South Yarra

Property: Apartments of South Yarra
Address: 46 Arthur Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments of South Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apartments of South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing