We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartments of South Yarra
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
42
48
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
48
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclaremont hoteltoorak roadchapel streetoff street parkinga ground floor apartmentjam factorykey pickupblock of flatsgreat locationshops and cafestrain stationshort walkpublic transportbed was comfortablefree breakfastgreat apartmenthandy location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I wanted a reasonably priced place to stay in a central location so I booked the Apartments of South Yarra.

Unfortunately the place is just not clean or well maintained. Just a few of the maintenance / cleanliness issues:

*the furniture was dusty: especially the drawers
*the shower tiles were moldy
*the corners and edges of the bathroom floor were dingy
*the small containers of milk in the fridge provided for tea / coffee were spoiled
*the toilet did not flush properly
*the laundry room in the building was a dusty mess

I reported these issues to the front desk, which resulted in 2 different gentlemen appearing at my door to inspect and ask about the problems. The man in charge of maintenance was surly. The assistant manager was nicer, but the result was little to no improvement. They just sent someone on the cleaning staff to take care of 3 specific problems (dusty furniture, moldy tiles, spoiled milk), but really the place just needed a thorough cleaning and more attention to detail. I was not offered any other compensation or discount.

Cleanliness is important to me when I choose a place to stay. I wish it was equally important to the management and staff of Ap-artments of South Yarra.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShailaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at South Yarra apartments in October. We were extremely happy with everything about the accommodation. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment that had a full kitchen and it was perfect for us. The bedroom and living area were a nice size and the kitchen had everything we needed. It was extremely clean and the free wired internet was a definite plus. We didn't have a car, but the apartment also came with free parking.

You have to check in at a nearby hotel and then walk to the apartments. Not too far but be prepared to carry your bags a few blocks. The South Yarra area had lots of restaurants, cafes, and shopping and I would definitely recommend staying here. The CBD is only 2 train stops away.

Location, cleanliness, internet, kitchen...couldn't ask for much more!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We were a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids (11 & 15). What attracted us was the location to avoid having to rent a car. It did the trick. It was a true fully furnished apartment. In the end we did rent a car and were pleasantly happy that a parking pass was provided for our car for off-street parking near the building. As mentioned by the other traveller you are surrounded by everything: restaurants, shops, groceries, and public transit. The train/bus/tram are litterally a stones throw. The train station is a mere 2 stops from the CBD (Central Business District). You will see that often "CBD" in literature.

While it is not a 5 star hotel it is clean and well maintained. Our unit (#7) was a ground floor unit. Great since we did not have to carry suitcases up and down the exterior stairs.
The closed bedroom housed the bathroom (shower stall only). The kitchen had all that is required, including usual needs (sugar, coffee, etc..). Kitchen table with 4 chairs. It also had free internet... Pretty nice in this day and age when all big name hotels charge you for internet. The kids slept in the hide-a-bed in the living room. TV in bedroom & living room. Except for a minor ant problem in the bathroom on the last day the stay was flawless.

Because we were mostly touring the city, it made for a great place to sleep since it was accesible from the train, etc...

As said by the other person, you have to check in and out at another address down the street. That address is on a busy street. no parking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wTavcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I stayed in this hotel twice in 2008. Its a great little place to stay while in Melbourne. Its just off Chapel Street, which is a great place to shop, eat and drink. St Kilda is just round the corner and the city near by. You also get high power internet free in the room which is very handy.The only bad point is you have to check in at another hotel about 5 mins walk away. The staff are very helpfull and would recoment this place to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seano100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews