We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The hotel was fine. It is not super close to the beach but not a long walk. The restaurant is good and the gym sufficient. The room was well sized and looked out onto the pool. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mirella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D, Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mirella S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on The Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa.

Glad to hear you were able to experience our 5 start restaurant and that the gym room met your needs. Thank you for recognising our friendly and informative level of service - I will certainly pass this onto our Front Desk staff.

We hope to see you back at The Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

A quick getaway for us during tourist season up north.
Quite impressed with the overall aesthetic of the resort. Reception is lovely and the rooms are of a good standard.
There are of course the run of the mill foibles with aging rooms showing wear, but all in all they were tidy and comfortable.

Two issues would be the silly balcony seating, which was pretty impractical and obviously a cheaper option. So not a big thing.
Secondly, as it is styled as a resort, meaning the option to laze by the pool is high on guests agendas, please have more than a single person working the bar at a time. The wait for drinks was substantial during the day.

Some issues. Other than those we very much enjoyed our stay and shall no doubt be back again in future.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ItsMrAndMrsMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D, Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear ItsMrAndMrsMills,

Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa.

We are continually striving to provide the best experience for our guests and so I have passed your feedback onto the relevant departments to action.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We found room #208 to be clean, modern and well appointed. Nice towels. The air cond though was preset to a too warm 25 C. The pool area was very pleasant.
We only ate a breakfast there but this ordered set of hot meals was good value and tasty.
We found all staff friendly and helpful.
Be aware that is a 10 minute walk to the beach. Town buses pass the door

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D, Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear KeenPhotographer-11,

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent experience with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, in particular our pool and restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The room was noisy in an alcove which could have been quiet but for the constantly slamming doors of the other guests and the Safety Fence. The Plunge Pool was Leaking and out of action for most of the six days. Tiles were pealing off and it was empty for a few days.
The Refrigerators were totally frosted up
Room cleaning was poor and the same dead flies were behind the curtain for six days. Our one year old was always covered in red dust/ sand from crawling on the floor. Shoes had to be worn otherwise dirt built up on our feet inside the unit.
Staff support and help was lacking in all areas.
Dining was very slow nearly three hours for a four course dinner.
Towels were taken not returned.
Bins not emptied and we had to ask after the room clean.
Very very limited cooking facilities. No Salt & Pepper.
Air Conditioners were inadequate.
I really don't know how they achieved the fictitious five stars.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank GeorgeTill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D, Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear GeorgeTill,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Kimberley Sands Resort.

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. The plunge pool is certainly a feature of our suite accommodation and we have worked as quickly as possible to reinstate this for our guests.

I have passed on your remaining concerns to our relevant departments to ensure we provide a positive experience and the highest level of service for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I am currently in Broome and went out for dinner with friends at the Kimberly sands resort.
Firstly the service was great , friendly and helpful.
The menu was great and the wine list extensive.
We all ordered the all inclusive food menu which provided four nice sized courses with a glass of sparkling wine for $80 per person .
Excellent value as the courses were nice sizes and well presented and most importantly delicious.
Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a lovely night out.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Taurusnz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D, Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Taurusnz2015,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, The Deck.
I am so glad you enjoyed your evening and have passed on your comments to our restaurant team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at KSR in a Poolside room. There are rooms in an adjacent area of garden with no day time pool noise. It's a good walk to Cable beach, a car is preferable in Broome anyhow.
I would say it has been 5 star but it is slipping a bit - more like 4.5 now. A little bit of maintenance could fix things like screws protruding from the wooden decks Etc.
Basically it is still one of the better places to stay in Broome. ( Superior to CBR we feel which can get very crowded.)
The worst feature we found here was common in many places now - noise from kids whose parents don't seem to want to own them. (It was school holidays) Complaints to staff were not responded to. I chastised one lot for splashing us by the pool and were informed by one parent they were having fun. I suggested his wife may like me to toss a bucket of water over her for fun. They left and I was applauded by a few others similarly affected.
The rooms are big and very comfortable. The ground floor rooms are preferable in our opinion with private screened balconies. The bathrooms clean and huge with a wet room shower and no bath. They have a green policy and Towels are only replaced when left on the floor. There was a lounge and comfortable chairs in the room and the bed comfortable. Tv is positioned in an awkward position for viewing however. There is no mini bar but there is a fridge. Bar service is available all day in the open air restaurant. The service and staff are friendly, helpful and obliging but everything in Broome is done in far north time - sooner or later, usually later.
The dining room (The Deck) is brilliant with a definite French influence of food and service. Breakfast can be Continental or full service. Continental is as good as any other hotel.
We would rebook KSR next time we are in Broome.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dinkumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D, Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Dinkumguy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive and constructive feedback on your recent stay. The pool is certainly a feature of our resort, and a beautiful space to relax and unwind but can tend to get busy during school holiday periods.

I'm glad you enjoyed The Deck and will pass on your comments to the Chef and his team. I've also passed on your maintenance concerns as well.

We looking forward to seeing you again next time for a more peaceful & relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Although not actually located on Cable Beach itself, Kimberley Sands Resort is an easy & pleasant walk with a town bus stop just meters away. Cable Beach is awash with accomodation choices and Kimberley Sands is at the high end for luxury (& obviously price). The tranquil grounds are exquisite with lush well kept gardens around numerous pools including the main pool outside the Deck Poolside Bar & Restaurant. We both enjoyed treatments at the Spa & recommend shouting yourself a little luxury. Our room had pool views and didn't want for anything all though cleanliness wasn't a strong point (see photos). Wi-Fi is complimentary but can be slow during busy periods. A highlight for those on longer holidays is the huge guest laundry with numerous Miele front load washers and dryers. Bring your gold coins to operate at $5 a wash and the same for drying. It's great to see an establishment taking environmental washing for tourists seriously. Unusually, staff seem to ignore hotel rules by serving glass within the pool area. As a health professional this is disappointing to see as nothing will empty a pool quicker than blood in the water after an accidental cut. The other problem with serving drinks and meals within the pool area is that guest become ensconced and so have no reason to leave for the day thus reducing sun bed availability for other guests. Very minor issue (but an occupational concern) that wouldn't deter me from visiting again. Tip - if the taxi line at the airport is long (as it was for us) simply asked for directions to the town bus stop that will take you directly to Kimberley Sands.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Headsterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden F, Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Headsterb,

Thank you for staying at Kimberley Sands, and for sharing your views through TripAdvisor.

I will pass on your feedback to the team here and I shall pass your concerns onto the relevant . It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back when you next return to Broome!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
1.0 km away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
46.1 km away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#5 of 12 in Broome
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
3.8 km away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
327 reviews
3.9 km away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#9 of 12 in Broome
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Murray Rd | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#4 Business Hotel in Broome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range: $137 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing