We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning! DISCUSTING AND DIRTY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The worst hotel ever! I have travelled extensively through South East Asia, I have never stayed in a hotel as discussing and dirty such as this one. Air Condition was not working at all heater was on and wouldnt turn off. They refused to relocate us to another room, as it was impossible to sleep in this heat, windows would not open. Left hotel at 1am , they refused to refund or offer alternatives or an appology. Bathroom was mouldy, sheets were stained, toilet did not flush,.......... Absolutely a complete rip off and unsafe and not healthy! JUST DON'T!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gecko00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for The New Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

It starts with the walk from the car to reception via a very grotty lift & walkway. It doesn't improve a lot from there. On the positive, Rooms are a good size & the view of the river is pleasant. Asked for ice......sorry we have none. Perth accommodation is very expensive, but don't choose this place to save $$$$.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Hotel is quite tired and needs upgrading. Rooms themselves are a good size however layout is very poor. Basic services such as heating/air conditioning only work occasionally. Bed is terrible as the bed covers are so thin that it is impossible to stay warm when the heating fails, makes for a poor nights sleep

Reception, most requests need to be repeated multiple times. Suggest this is due to young inexperienced reception staff.

Overall, many better options in Perth than this one for lower room tariffs

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel, go elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greggscanlan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

riggity old elevator that shudders when it stops - i could have sworn i heard the cables ready to snap. the door to the room has a bathroom door style lock on it. the bar fridge was dirty and smelly, and anything i put in there came out smelling the same. the a/c did not work. ratty old chair with a 60's style seat cushion tied on to cover the holes. a view of dead trees out the window. cracks in the windows so the breeze whistled through. uncomfortable mattress. restaurant was permanently closed. toiletries not stocked on arrival or during the stay. frayed and holed towels. cracked walls. paint chipped away. this place literally made me cry. definately NOT worth paying any sort of money for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MozartsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had 7 traveling friends for our trip to western Australia for 9 days trip and this Hotel was the last stop of our stay in Perth before flying back home. We had stayed 5 different accommodations, while traveling down south and back to Perth, and I must say this Hotel is one of the worst experience and unpleasant stay we had. The staffs are very unfriendly and not customer oriented at all. The rooms and their fittings are very run-down, for the price we paid, it was not worth it. If the staffs would have been more helpful, friendlier and smiley, maybe the stay would have been more acceptable.
All 7 agreed that we should not have stayed at this Hotel

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank LinnaKayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Poor service at check-in. Our main problem was the cleanliness of the rooms. Sheer curtains by the bed were covered in white stains. See photos/video attached. Totally unbelievable!! Showed photos and video to the staff and was met with indifference. Changed rooms and had the sheer curtains from this room removed. Hair in shower on check in and room was not serviced during the day. Have stayed in backpackers overseas cleaner than this stinky hole!

Room Tip: Don't touch the curtains by the bed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

As per the other reviews, The New Esplanade does have an excellent location, with views of the park and river (if you have a room on the front). However, the rooms on the back have a direct view of the interior of the carpark behind. Despite the relative cost ($$), the condition of the hotel is 'run-down', with cleaning a bit limited, and definitely an issue with the smell of the air/con. The windows have been sealed for some reason (with tape and toilet paper stuck in the cracks), which means you also can't air it out). For adjoining rooms, the soundproofing is non-existent, so you can hear everything that's happening next door. While the staff I dealt with were, in general, quite helpful - a chat with one of them revealed they were working for a management company appointed when the previous owner went bust. The new Chinese owners began taking over in the middle of my stay (April 1) and there appeared ot be a number of problems with systems, etc. So a suggested would be to double check reservations, etc. during the hand-over period.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the front of the building, on an upper floor
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeriBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#57 of 66 in Perth
465 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 66 in Perth
371 reviews
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#52 of 66 in Perth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Esplanade Hotel

Address: 18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $86 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The New Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Esplanade Hotel
New Esplanade Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing