We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Welcome to Colditz" said one guest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Planet Inn Backpackers
Ranked #39 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Perth City, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Welcome to Colditz" said one guest.”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We arrived in Perth, excited about getting to our accommodation to head out for dinner. We got a free lift to the Planet Inn from a lovely Irish gentlemen who was knowledgeable of the area and we took out bags inside. We foolishly paid up front before being taken to our room which was situated at the rear of the property, it had cracked walls, the window didn't close and the door barely locked. We stayed for a few moments before heading to reception to reclaim our money and call a taxi to get out of there.
There were mainly old men there that didn't give the feel of a comfortable travellers environment. it was loud, dirty and we couldn't even bring ourselves to use the bathroom while waiting for our taxi. Needless to say, they kept our $140+ dollars that we had paid them and we ended up in the Travelodge in the city centre as everywhere else was booked out.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    6
    11
    42
See reviews for
1
17
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just don't stay here. Bedbugs, disgusting kitchen, gross crusty carpets, no hot water (in kitchen or in showers). Reception was empty a lot of the time, we waited one hour to check-in in the middle of the day. Cockroaches everywhere, including in kitchen. And to make things worse, you can't even "numb the pain" of living here because you can't drink your own and it's $4 a beer. Internet connection works sometimes but not reliable (one guy lost a job offer because he couldn't call back with skype).
Found it online, DO NOT stay here. Check gumtree for short term accommodation. You can find a nice furnished place closer to the beach, for cheaper!

Room Tip: No good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cml45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

sydney
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I could not believe what I saw when I entered Planet Inn Backpackers. It looked like a drug addicts house. I knew what to expect from the backpackers hostels, but such a dirtiness I have no seen in my life! It’s a shame for Perth to advertise such a place in the airport!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank geras1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planet_Inn, Receptionist at Planet Inn Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Planet Inn Backpackers in 2011.

Since the review, we have implemented a thorough cleaning schedule and have our own team of exceptional cleaners that clean every morning and evening daily. I can assure you that the 'Planet Inn' is a clean environment and will remain to be so.

Thankyou for your time,

Laura
Planet Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This place was advertised on the wall in Perth airport so I phoned up and arranged to stay for a night (you had to pay over the phone). I thought (wrongly) that there would be a basic standard of accommodation as it was advertised in the airport. We arrived and the receptionist who was just out of bed warned us that the room had not been cleaned yet. The whole hostel looked normal from outside - walk inside and it looked like a crack den. Drunken mopes lying everywhere at 10am and the place was filthy. Bottles everywhere and even if it had been cleaned it would make no difference. It is a hole. I looked at the room - broken lock, broken window, beer bottles everywhere and said I wanted my money back as you would not keep hens in this place. They flatly refused to give it to me. I left minus my 50$ and with a very poor first impression of Perth. I found a nicer place at the Emporer hostel. It is weird how a place like this can stay open. I have stayed in hostels in South Africa, Australia, Asia and Europe. This was the worst.

Room Tip: Keep walking past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Plant Inn is a friendly place to stay. 'Lil bit dirty, but free breakfast and free wireless! That's the 19$ per day worth! Cool staff, nice people.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangabanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Cheap hell hole with all the charm and character of a steaming browntrout. Had the missfortune of staying here due to an atheletics tornament. The girl on reception was about as friendly as a bulldog chewing a wasp.
The room, on entree the floor was filthy, ex guests dirty plates and bowls lying around beds were not made dirty sheets still on. Some beds had just brown stained mattress on which looked like a bedbug haven as no underliners or sealed mattress'. Get this, we had to get our own sheets strip the festering bed sheets and remake it ourselves. We were this close to leaving and going back to the airport to sleep there instead!
The rest of the hostel is very scruffy, rough as a badgers ringpiece and unclean hardly any kitchen equipment. The yard out the back resembles a dumpground one of the main attractions being a broken ice lolly fridge filled with bottflies thriving off the festering sausages in the bottom.
Apart from resembling a crack den the hostel does have an operating pooltable, oh and a bar...........which didnt open.....yet you still werent allowed your own alcohol. I would rather put my balls in a vise and smash them with a lumphammer than stay in this hostel again, it was a real downer as my first experience of staying Perth.
My advise to Planetinn Owners..... Burn it down........Dont run a hostel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommorgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This place looked nice from the outside and staff were helpful and seemed friendly. theres a free bus to city outside door but if you do decide to walk its only 15 mins.
The place needs a lot of money spent on it to make it to a decent liveable place. The bathroom facilities weren't to bad but reminded me of a public swimming pools and was also in need of desperate clean. The rooms werent too badly sized but dirty and beds were terribly uncomfortable and i did get a funny rash thing so maybe bed bugs or terribly dirty linen.
The people were friendly enough but they seemed to be terribly untrustworthy and things did go missing from peoples lugguge. Also seemed to be the hookup place as people were bringing there one night stands from outside the premises and majorly hooking up with each other. so made it very uncomfortable at night and people seemed to have no respect and staff didnt seem in a hurry to change your room or say anything to those people. They have their own bar and drinks are reasonbly priced but means a lot of people did pass out everywhere so made it seem yuck and scummy
I only stayed 2 nights and that was more than enough

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbieinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
West Perth
Beatty Lodge
Beatty Lodge
#17 of 51 in Perth
74 reviews
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Inn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Inn Backpackers

Property: Planet Inn Backpackers
Address: 496 Newcastle St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Planet Inn where you ''won't be lonely!''Our goal is to help you to "Dare to be Different" as you explore new experiences in our wonderful part of the world that we Australians call "The Lucky Country".We first began trading in 1996 with a backpackers hostel then called Redbackpackers, which in 2000 evolved into Club Red Backpackers. The evolution continued in 2004 as the hostel enjoyed a makeover and become Planet Inn Backpackers.This accommodation business can also arrange your employment, sightseeing and your activities and entertainment program.We pride ourselves on our staff's commitment to friendly and professional service, coupled with experience and local knowledge to help you make your visit "Down Under" a truly memorable experienceThe beauty of Planet Inn Backpackers is that we are an International Backpacker which mean that the people that are staying here are all overseas travellers who want to explore Oz just like yourself. We offer a 24 hour airport pickup service with any booking of seven days or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Planet Inn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing