We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
19
25
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
25
12
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 61 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our room had every amenity we required, including refrigerator and stove and cooking gear, but it seemed a bit shabby and in need of a facelift. There is wifi, but we had to sit out on the steps to get any signal. There are laundry facilities. The location is a reasonable walk to downtown and easily accessible by car. There is a very nice cafe across the street. If I returned to Perth and wanted a self catering accommodation I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Perth is not the easiest place to find decent accommodation at peak summer season and at a reasonable price, but Brownelea Apartments does all of this.

In a very quiet street about a ten minute walk from the Main Streets of Northbridge this worked perfectly for our family of four. True that the apartments a somewhat dated and the beds in particular could do with an upgrade but the nice kitchen, excellent shower and general cleanliness more than made up.

The owners were very helpful and the free blue bus line ran only ten minutes walk away.

Overall spot on for what we needed and at a price that is affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Inexpensive accommodation in Perth is difficult to find so we were pleased to find this one. It is an old apartment building three blocks from Northbridge and only a 10 minute walk to the start of the CBD. There is a great cafe (Le Papillion) across the road and the renovated Hyde Park Hotel is just down the street. The accommodation itself is very basic and elderly but clean. There is a small kitchen with all the essentials. The pool is large and well kept including a barbeque if you like to entertain at the hotel. It was great to have free wifi!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor. Most ground floor rooms are near the pool and can be a little noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anemmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We use TripAdvisor regularly for planning and booking abroad. This time, for the first time, the reviews failed to match the lodging and the experience in any way, shape or form. There is a reason Brownlea has a huge B (for Budget Hotel) on the side of the building, which is wrapped in bars across each door and window. In a word - YUCK. This place is old, tired, somewhat spooky,and newly managed by misers, who allocate towels and soap as if they were gold. The best thing about Brownlea is the fabulous coffee/pastry shop across the street. Otherwise, skip it. For the money, you can do much better in Perth. (And, there is no bus stop across the street anymore!)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TheHazes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peng U, Manager at Brownelea Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Our building is as shown in the photos on our website and we can say that it is well maintained and the facilities advertised are in good working order. Our mission statement is that we provide Clean, Comfortable, Affordable City Accommodation and we will strenuously work to achieve this.
Both the Health Inspector from the local Shire and AAA carry out regular inspections and there have been no issues at all. This is backed up by the many Guests Reviews of our Apartments in Trip Advisor or Wotif website in which you will notice that the “old building & facilities is not an issue with the majority of guests.
Towels are changed every other day & soap is replenished weekly or on request. We do concede that the bus no longer stops at the bus-stop opposite our building and instead is now along Fitzgerald St which is about 4 minutes walk away and we will be amending this in our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were visiting Perth for 7 weeks to catch up with family and spent a large part of that time at Brownelea Holiday Apartments.
We were attracted to the property as it was close to the CBD in Perth and not to far from the family. It has wi fi connection and an excellent pool .
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was serviced weekly, while towels were changed every two days and milk, coffee and other bits and pieces were attended to daily.
The kitchen had everything we needed with a full size fridge, micro wave, 4 ring hob, toaster,
jug and assorted kitchenware.
The staff and owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
We found it excellent value for money and while our family remain in Perth Brownelea's will see us again.

Ron and Maria Bruce

Room Tip: We took as superior room and while we did not visit the other rooms thought it was good value
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews