We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peking Duck Excellent”
Review of Empress Garden

Empress Garden
Ranked #292 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: US$18 - US$46
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Went there with family we had the Peking Duck which was excellent and several other dishes which were good but not outstanding and quite over priced. I have been going to the Empress Garden for years. They need to upgrade the decor as it is looking very tired and shabby. And the wait staff should not be in sweat shirt type attire. But will return again for the Peking duck.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We dine here a lot and pretty much every time is a winner. Only thing I won’t order is their combo fried rice. Their little prawns are awful. Shame as the rest of the food is great. Dumplings pork, prawn, prawn and coriander awesome. Soups great and mains very good.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Bedeashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Great range of Chinese foods and probably the best in the area for Peking Duck. We were told even the duck sauce is made here. We were a group of 4 and had 4 different dishes and we couldn't finish it all. Slightly pricey for the quantity but not bad considering the taste and quality. Restaurant set up is nothing flash but works and is more like a typical Guangzhou restaurant.
We were lucky getting a booking a few hours before lunch closing time on a Saturday Over all good service with a smile, a recommend Restaurant to try.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

The Empress Garden is a short walk from my mates place and we went there less than a couple of years ago. This time my wife was tagging along. The food is delicious with good portions, the service is very good by enthusiastic youngsters and there is a polite friendly atmosphere. It's tucked away toward the end of Jervois Road but well worth a look.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Reuben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

We took my mother in law for her birthday and they did not disappoint! Everything from the starters to the Peking duck and beef stir fry was amazing. The service was great, even though the restaurant was booked for the night the lady taking bookings squeezed us in. The atmosphere is also lovely. Would absolutely recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank mdias821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empress Garden also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Empress Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing