We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SidArt

SidArt
Ranked #2 of 2,122 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$76
Cuisines: International, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: METRO BEST NEW RESTAURANT 2010SIDART Restaurant is a fine dining restaurant located in the Three Lamps Plaza, 283 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby, Auckland. We are open Tuesday to Saturday for dinner from 6pm and Friday's for lunch. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Can't fault the food, the service, the decor or the setting. A wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    59
    25
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

It's definitely worth your while to stroll into the Three Lamps Plaza in Ponsonby and dine at Sidart. We went for lunch on a Friday and choose 5 course $50 set menu - it was delicious and excellent value for money. We sat by the window with a view over the city which added a special something to the experience. You can also see into the kitchen and watch the chefs hards at work. The wait staff were briliant and extremely helpful and knowledgable as deliberated whether to choose a la carte or the set menu. It's an intimate restuarant but we didn't feel like we were sitting lunching with our neighbours.Would we go back - yes, in a heartbeat.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sqddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Inventive Creations Just a Perfect Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Food here cannot be faulted. They are really clever in adding something special to their dishes. Even their complimentary starter was delightful using dry ice to the salad. Not just dinner it was an interactive experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Jammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning, stunning FOod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went to celebrate a 40th birthday. There were six in the group and we all ordered differently from the menu, 3 had the degustation, 2 the 4 course option and the last a vegetarian combination. The presentation and taste were absolutely outstanding , service second to none. This is an expensive top class restaurant and certainly earns the title as one of Auckland's best.

Helpful?
Thank Sainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bumpy start, but only up from there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were really looking forward to our dining at SidArt and expectations were quite high, so we were a little taken aback when we were greeted with a nod in the direction of our table along with a cursory "your over there". We scuttled over to our table to wait for our dining companions, a little surprised. However, once we are settled in we all opted for the 10 course degustation menu with wine match. If I had to describe the experience in one word, I'd say it was 'intricate'. The unusual presentation of each dish was exciting and the taste sensations just kept coming throughout the night. In the end as we got to the three desserts, I couldn't help but offer little claps as each one was placed in front of us. The experience was fun and fulfilled our very high expectations in the end.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juddster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SidArt also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to SidArt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing