We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$178
US$151
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$152
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
US$132
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quest Parnell(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveller rating
183
540
373
120
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
540
373
120
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towergreat locationqueen streetvictoria streetwithin walking distancecountdown supermarketconvenience storenew zealandsmall kitchenettenoisy at nightcorner roominner citybuffet breakfastshort stayferry terminalbwauckland
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2018

Had a nice couple of nights here

Very basic, but has everything needed....Shower has a decent pressure too :)

Room was very cold, but there was extra duvet and bedding in a drawer to warm up. Heater in the living area heated that room, but never really made the bedroom any warmer.

Was very noisey outside on the Saturday night, but with a central location so close to all the great sights it is to be expected. And the All Blacks were playing that night, so everyone was out! haha

Only thing that went wrong is the kettle started smoking and nearly went on fire! Was pretty scary, as it wasnt even turned on....I had used it about half hour before to make hot chocolate, but at the time of the smoke appearing it was no turned on. I just heard a crackly electric sound and looked over and saw the smoke filling the room. I called reception and they came and took it straight away and gave me another to use the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank xxginamxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Dear xxginamxx,

Thank you for your recent review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We pride ourselves on being centrally located and we are glad that you found our facilities are satisfactory.

Our apologies for the air con not providing enough heat to the bedroom as it was located in the living area only.

In regards to the kettle, we have contacted the provider however, they did not find any fault.

We would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Front office team

Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018

This hotel is well sited, centrally but unfortunately during our stay, there were longstanding road works to build a Metrowhich made it noisy & intrusive! The roadworks also made it complicated to drive around! However it is easy walking distance to the circular restaurant.

R M R

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ridoutrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Dear Ridoutrm,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to write us a comment.

We are glad that you found our location very central and easy to the circular restaurants.
We are sorry for the roadworks as it was a council project, it was out of our control.
However, they have finished the project early this year.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Front office team
Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018

I've been staying at this hotel for the last 8 years and I always go back manly family stays and groups of friends always a good time and never had any issues I maybe got stuck in the car park because someone blocked the gate outside but no mager problems

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bdoggjamz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Dear B.W.W

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for past 8 years. Team and I are delighted to have you stayed with us repeatedly and we are glad that you find our hotel very convinient and comfortable. We greatly appreciate your comments. We will ensure that your future experience would be better.
Looking forward to giving our best service to you in near future.

Kind regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

The rooms were okay. We were a group and some rooms were huge and some small. Ours had an extremely odd odor. There was drag racing in the early morning hours outside the hotel. Nothing very special. I wouldn’t recommend it.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lovestotravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Dear Lovestotravel,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We have different types of rooms and it totally depends on the type of room you booked. We allocate the rooms according to the room type you booked,hence you may have got some rooms big and some small. Our housekeeping supervisors do spray the room freshner's once they finish final checks on their given rooms, however on behalf our housekeeping team I would like to apologize that you find your room with odd odor and for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Kind regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

Chose this hotel due to the central location. Understanding that due to the price, I wouldn’t expect too much.
The room was smaller than the impression gained from the online photos. The bed was very soft.
When I lowered the blinds, it looks like they haven’t been cleaned since installation.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I will pass on your feedback to the Housekeeping department.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews