We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Urgent Renovation Required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We booked a weekend special which gave two complimentary drinks on arrival, free parking and late checkout on Sunday. Went to the bar for the complimentary drinks while we waited for our room to become available and had to wait more than 10 minutes till a staff member made themselves availabIe. I was miffed when my credit card was charged an extra $50.00 without being advised. When I asked why they gave a reasonable explanation, but I should have been advised prior to the charge being applied to my card. Room was clean but very dated. Bed was awesomely comfortable. Toilet had water running in it constantly. I was surprised at how much noise there was from the road below considering we were staying on the 10th floor. Good views and perfect location. I would stay again but they really need to give this place a 'make over'.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel definately needs an upgrade. The room was very dated, with a TV that was at least 10 years old, the fridge and furniture being the same! Having said all that I found the staff very friendly and the room was clean.

Being on a main street the noise was very loud at night, and closing the window did not help. Sound proofing would be my suggestion!

Room Tip: I dont know if there are rooms at the back of the hotel but if there are people with children should...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Excellent for access to the downtown area and viaduct. View over the harbour was great, staff very helpfull and friendly. Rooms were clean and a good size but the bathroom in particular was very old and in need of some work. The TV reception in our room was bad, and only a few channels available that we were able to watch. Food in the reasturant was very nice, and the breakfast was OK. Overall not bad, but could use some work.

Room Tip: Harbour view - but be prepared for a little noise from the street
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had a short stop over in Auckland after 6 weeks away in Australia. We knew the location of the hotel, right on the harbour as we had 4 days in Auckland in 2010. The place is very tired and needs an update, typical of many Copthornet Hotels I have stayed at in the UK.. The king size bed room was on the 12th floor and near to the airconditioning system so it kept us awake. The internet was not free but at least we got 20 minutes free per day in the bar area or reception. The TV worked OK but must have been over 10 years old and many of the stations were not tuned in. i suspect ours was a room kept for emrgencies. The bed linen smelt musty and the pillows had not been ironed. All in all a poor place but in saying that, if you want a great location this is the place.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near airconditioning ducts.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great hotel overlooking the harbour very central to all locations in Auckland
Staff very accomodating. Room and bathroom getting tired but genrally clean and well equiped

Room Tip: Upper floors give better views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soloszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The rom wasn't huge, but big enough. GREAT location, very central, but a bit noisy from traffic and loud drunken youths on the street below shouting at each other all through the night!

Still, friendly helpful staff, and would stay again for cheap overnight.

Room Tip: As high a floor as possible, to reduce the noise from people outside.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiddyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The rooms were clean and tidy, though the bathroom was fairly dated. I think the price reflects this, though. The location is awesome if you are planning a night out on the Viaduct (which we were).

I thought the buffet breakfast was pretty gross though. Cereal and tinned fruit, or greasy hot breakfast (and I think the eggs were powdered, or at least they were very pale and tasteless).

Stay here if you are after a clean room close to the Viaduct, but I recommend venturing outside for breakfast! Pretty good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatTheEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 km away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#16 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,135 reviews
1.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
#49 of 67 in Auckland Central
590 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
#20 of 67 in Auckland Central
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland Central
65 reviews
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.5 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $209 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing