We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Aquarium only a short distance from Auckland CBD”

Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$27.19*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
More Info
US$34.86*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sea Life Kelly Tarlton’s is New Zealand’s most famous aquarium! It is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans. For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure jump into the shark tank and go snorkeling with 14 massive sharks or jump on the ice and get up close and personal with the King and Gentoo penguins!
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I went to Kelly Tarlton's Sealife Aquarium during my trip to Auckland in late September. Having been to the Sydney Aquarium numerous times, KT's aquariums definitely has that unique feel to it.

The emperor penguins are the drawcard to this aquarium, the enclosure is well maintained and the penguins looked like they were having a ball together in their exhibit.

The cafe halfway through is water level to Auckland harbour, a large glass window is all that is between yourself and the harbour of Auckland. An amazing view over the harbour while sitting down enjoying a warm coffee.

Highly recommed coming to visit and I shall be sure to come back, possibly will do the Emperor Penguin photo package

Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia Ora Sean,

Thank you for the awesome review!

Did you know, at high tide our window is submerged in the water?! You can sometimes even spot fish and other marine life swimming outside.

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

You have to spend atleast half a day there to cover all the activities at Kelly's. It's a great place to bring kids because they will love it,! They had animal feeding sessions and talks at different times throughout the day. The penguins were so wonderful!! We did the shark cage activity there and although the water was really cold, it was really fun to watch them swim along. Staff were kind and very informative!!

1  Thank vinitha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltonsMike, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hi Vinitha,

Thanks for the review. I am glad to hear you had a great experience with us and also managed to jump in the shark tank! We keep the water at that temperature for the benefit of the animals, so we manage the dive and shark cage experiences so that you get enough time to have a really good look around but not too long that you get a chill!

Cheers,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Expensive place to visit, mostly a good experience. The moving walkway in the aquarium was quite unique, so much do we did 4 circuits. Other parts are looking really tired, especially the cafe. If looking at dozens of fish swimming endlessly from one end of a tank to another then this is the place to go. And take ear plugs if screaming kids are present the walkway section funnels the noise.

Thank KARL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Kia Ora Karl,

Thank you for your review of our aquarium. We update or change one section of our aquarium every year to keep things fresh. Last year we introduced our new interactive area called Amazing Creations. Keep an eye out for an exciting change happening later this year!

Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed

After finding it hard to find the shuttle stop. Which wasnt even marked.....

My family and about 4 other families were waiting at the shuttle stop at lower queen street for about 40 minutes before we found their phone number ( which was very difficult to find)
When we got hold of reception they told us the bus wasn't running today and hung up when we tried to complain.

This cut in to our limited family holiday time and it let down alot of families in the same position as us.

My niece ended up in tears




Thank Eloise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Kia Ora Eloise,

We are sorry to hear you had a lot of difficulties with contacting us yesterday. Unfortunately due to an illness, we were unable to run our free shuttle service.

I have passed on your concerns to higher management and would love to get in contact with you further to discuss this. Keep an eye out for a PM shortly.

Thanks,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We had visited Kelly Tarlton several times and still amusing.
So informative for children and adults it is a good place to learn abut sea life penguins sharks and fish . Staff are so knowledgeable and friendly, it so easy to expend hours in Kelly Tarlton,children love it.

Thank lobetravel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for your review.

We love that you took the time to learn some fun & exciting facts about our animals. Did you know we have dedicated staff at our Rock Pools touch tank, who can answer all our animal enquiries there?!

Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing