We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues!!!!”

Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$27.34*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
More Info
US$35.05*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sea Life Kelly Tarlton’s is New Zealand’s most famous aquarium! It is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans. For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure jump into the shark tank and go snorkeling with 14 massive sharks or jump on the ice and get up close and personal with the King and Gentoo penguins!
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

I don't normally complain on trip advisor but I'm really disappointed and this! kt needs to up its game as both a local & international attraction.

The "free shuttle bus" is shockingly disorganised!!!!!
Pick up point on pamphlets differs from ad on internet!!!! Very confusing for people and clearly the running time is pretty ad hoc. To make matters worse there is NO PHONE NUMBER that connects to an actual human being so u can't call to check what's happening.
Return service advertised at 1.20 -we are still waiting at 1.40!!!! Driver advises he was held up doing the behind the scenes tour. This is disappointing as we were outside waiting by 1.10 so we didn't miss bus and we could have spent the extra half hour inside getting value for our entry price.
If you're not going to provide a service as advertised, then don't advertise it!!!

Food - dismal, unhealthy choices. Coffee miserable. And interesting that a place promoting ocean conservation uses A RIDICULOUS AMOUNT OF PLASTIC WRAP ON EVERYTHING!!!!

And lastly one of the main attractions -the sting rays were closed off today. I understand improvements/maintenance needs to happen but how about a reduced entry fee?? It's not fair to pay the same price as always yet miss one of the best parts!!

Come on guys -this needs serious work!!!

Thank Monstarrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora Monstarrat,

We are sorry to hear you had a lot of difficulties with contacting us and with our free shuttle service.

I have passed on your concerns to higher management and would love to get in contact with you further to discuss this. Keep an eye out for a PM shortly.

Thanks,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

The penguin area used to be separate but you can now see them as part of the attraction. The replica of Scott base is for much older children and could do with more light as it scares small children and it is hard to see although they want it to be authentic with dim lighting! The play area near the cafe and the squid tank was probably the highlight for my grandchildren. They could get really close and it was at their level. I was somewhat disappointed with the tunnel aquarium as it needs more variety and investment as did the other fish tanks. Having seen the one at Mooloolaba in Australia it needs to be really top range for the prices they are asking. You need about 2 hours. They could make a lot more money in the shop with a greater range of products but the prices weren't too high. You can have parties there at night but for much older children.

Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora Gerri,

Thank you for your review of SEA LIFE Kelly Tarlton's Auckland.

Did you know our tunnel represents many animals you can commonly spot around the North Island of New Zealand? We love to showcase our local marine life.

We also have birthday parties that run on weekends for the younger children as well - including an exclusive fish feed above the tunnels!

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

My son thoroughly enjoyed his trip here, it’s not too big that you can’t get around with young kids and there is plenty to see! I loved the penguins myself too.
The cafe wasn’t fantastic, so we went for lunch elsewhere but if you are hungry there is a little playground right beside where you can see the kids playing. My son is 2 and loves animals - I’d say he enjoyed his day here more than the Auckland zoo. Great idea for a kindy trip of birthday.

Thank mcw_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora,

Thanks for the awesome review. We are constantly improving our cafe, and have new options available for you to try next visit!

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I went to Kelly Tarlton's Sealife Aquarium during my trip to Auckland in late September. Having been to the Sydney Aquarium numerous times, KT's aquariums definitely has that unique feel to it.

The emperor penguins are the drawcard to this aquarium, the enclosure is well maintained and the penguins looked like they were having a ball together in their exhibit.

The cafe halfway through is water level to Auckland harbour, a large glass window is all that is between yourself and the harbour of Auckland. An amazing view over the harbour while sitting down enjoying a warm coffee.

Highly recommed coming to visit and I shall be sure to come back, possibly will do the Emperor Penguin photo package

Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora Sean,

Thank you for the awesome review!

Did you know, at high tide our window is submerged in the water?! You can sometimes even spot fish and other marine life swimming outside.

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

You have to spend atleast half a day there to cover all the activities at Kelly's. It's a great place to bring kids because they will love it,! They had animal feeding sessions and talks at different times throughout the day. The penguins were so wonderful!! We did the shark cage activity there and although the water was really cold, it was really fun to watch them swim along. Staff were kind and very informative!!

1  Thank vinitha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltonsMike, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hi Vinitha,

Thanks for the review. I am glad to hear you had a great experience with us and also managed to jump in the shark tank! We keep the water at that temperature for the benefit of the animals, so we manage the dive and shark cage experiences so that you get enough time to have a really good look around but not too long that you get a chill!

Cheers,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing