We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian visitor ”

Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$27.90*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
More Info
US$32.20*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sea Life Kelly Tarlton’s is New Zealand’s most famous aquarium! It is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans. For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure jump into the shark tank and go snorkeling with 14 massive sharks or jump on the ice and get up close and personal with the King and Gentoo penguins!
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Have been with the grand children before, and they have loved it. But the Penquin experience my 26 year old daughter had from Vancouver was amazing! Great place to take the family for sure!

Thank Stevenz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia Ora Steve,

Thanks for the awesome review!

We love families being able to create some exciting memories together in our attraction. Hopefully your daughter got some great photos with our Sub-Antarctic penguins!

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

The cost for 2 adults and 1 child is over $80!!!!!!! We spent all of 45 mins in the building. Even my 8 year old said she expected it to be so much better. We passed the penguin encounter to find a slime making table, then a colouring in fish area, a cafe, more colouring in, tonnes of facts on the wall, a ride along aquarium and more facts with an expensive souvenir shop. Completely disappointing.

Thank emmapatricia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia Ora Emma,

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your trip. We encourage our guests to check out the website to see our talk and feed times. This helps plan your visit with us, to get the best value for money!

I have passed on your concerns to higher management and would love to get in contact with you further to discuss this. Keep an eye out for a PM shortly.

Thanks,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This is a great outing for families with kids between 5-12 years where much time could be spent on activities such as colouring, making slime and of course viewing marine animals. During school holidays would not be recommended for people looking for a quiet, peaceful visit to this aquarium.
The glass tunnel is great and when the fish are fed the commentary is informative. The down side is the very small cafe that has very limited choice for a healthy snack. Service was friendly but inadequate for the busyness when we visited.

Thank RonelBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia Ora Ronel,

Thank you for your review of our attraction.

We value your feedback and glad to inform, we have made a few improvements to our food served in the cafe!

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My parents were visiting from overseas and thought it a good idea to take them to Kelly Tarlton's as we had never been before either. What a lovely day we had. Parents were fascinated by all the different species and the kids had so much fun. Fish, fun , ice-cream, laughter and a generally good day had by all.

BTW - prebook - it is so easy. The lines were long and we just waltzed down, gave in our tickets and went in. Such a pleasure!

Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia Ora Judy,

Thank you for your review of our attraction.

Did you know we frequently have deals on admission prices on our website and partner outlets? Keep an eye out so you can come visit us again in the future!

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Visited Kelly Tarltons Sealife Yesterday with my 5yr old son. I had been years ago so was quite keen to see what was new.

Booked and paid for our tickets online, which I highly recommend as you can use the “pre-paid line” rather than wait. Plus we saved 10% off each of our entries. Entry for both of us was $53 total.

Turned up at 10:30am to find huge lines of kids doing holiday programmes as well as cruise ship visitors. Managed to score a park close to the exit door too (free)

Besides how packed it was, the actual attractions e.g penguins and underwater aquarium were really impressive. Plus there is an indoor playground and cafe.

Overall it’s we had a good time. Due to the price we prob won’t be back for quite a while. But glad we went. My son liked the playground and stingrays the best.

Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyTarltons_Ebony, Front Office Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia Ora Toni,

Thank you for your review of our attraction.

Did you know we frequently have deals on admission prices on our website and partner outlets? Keep an eye out so you can come visit us again in the future!

Cheers,
Ebony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing