We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Auckland Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Auckland Hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is usually my Auckland base when I am in the country on business. I stayed here three times in 2011, once in Feb, March and then again in May.

Each time the experience was similar - fantastic! Rooms are large and well appointed and the free wifi and upgrade that you get as a 1865 club member is a great bonus. They also always try to get you to your room if one is available if you arrive before the official check in time, which is a great bonus - a lot of hotels will make you wait on principal. As a regular traveller this is a great benefit of staying at the same hotel.

Location is nice and central and the hotel offers a free shuttle bus to downtown Auckland every half hour, though it is an easy walk, mind you if your are shoppting you might want to get the shuttle back or taxi as the hill can be steep in parts.

Well worth a visit next time you are in Auckland

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,498
    1,088
    382
    101
    63
See reviews for
472
2,047
243
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

One of the worst hotel rooms we have ever encountered. We were on the ground floor and the room was noisy with the constant hum machinery and passing traffic, also with no ability to open our curtains as the window faced the road. The ensuite was the size of a postage stamp! The rooms was also very run down.

Will never stay at this Langham again. Very out of step with the langham Hongkong and London.

Room Tip: Try rooms above the 12th floor. apparently they are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We are of course disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations. It is unusual for us to receive such feedback so I shall be in touch with you personally to discuss your concerns. Thank you for your candid response.

Darren Thurlow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Langham Auckland during a weekend getaway and we absolutely loved it. We thought it lived up to the usual high level of service that we have come to expect of the Langham brand. I wish they would open a hotel in Sydney! Anyway we splurged and got a room on the Club floor and this was fantastic! The room was very pretty in the usual Langham sense with a lot of old fashioned fabrics and creature comforts. The bathroom was ok, but probably in need of a facelift if I am to be brutally honest (feel bad for saying this though because all the staff at the Langham are just so lovely). It probably wasn't the most comfortable of rooms that I have ever stayed in but the service well and truly makes up for it! The Club was just fantastic. We had breakfast and also they had evening canapes and drinks for guests - we loved it! You can sit around with your partner and play games or chat and a host comes and gets you your drinks and you can help yourself to some delicious and lovely canapes - no scrimping here! Location wise it is on the top of the hill about 20 minutes from the harbour so we caught taxis to a lot of places but for a quick trip away Langham is a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have now stayed at the Langham Auckland on a number of occasions and it has become a real favourite. There are a number of little touches which make it the ideal place to stay just before embarking on the homeward journey. For a little bit of luxury book at least an Executive Room and you might be lucky and be offered an upgrade to Club as we were on this occasion; well worth the additional cost. Although it is out of the central area there is a regular free shuttle bus that takes you to the centre and brings you back to the hotel at the end of the day. Also the limo transfer to and from the airport is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Corax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

One of the best hotel sleeps I've had in a long time. A very comfortable bed and a quiet room. It also has one of the most comprehensive and tasty breakfasts of any hotel I can recall. Fresh, individually brewed coffee, healthy options and a good range of cuisine to suit all tastes.

Very helpful staff, convenient location and a very comfortable bed. Only let down is the range of options on the TV for catching up on the world.

Only stayed 36 hours in Auckland on business, but what time was spent in the hotel meant I would choose it again next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very nice hotel, so comfortable, beds, furniture etc very luxurious.
Service exceptional
A little walk to viaduct, city centre etc

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

From the moment the car door opens at this luxurious establishment in Auckland, NZ the pampering & individual attention begins. Genuinely friendly & knowledgeable staff greets you at every stage of your arrival - driveway, door, check-in & room. Langham Auckland manages to feel like a small hotel - but it’s clearly not! Service is consistently excellent across all areas. Beds are terrifically comfy! Bathroom roomy & well appointed! Soft furnishings & colour scheme extend the luxury feel of the hotel's public areas & guest rooms. Room service excellent & food wonderful! Best room service breakfast I've had! Set in among office blocks, the view over city buildings is not very exciting but it’s none the less a very quiet hotel. With the main shopping areas & harbour side a short walk or convenient hotel shuttle service away, it’s easy to enjoy the city & then retreat to the calm & elegance of the hotel to recharge batteries! I would recommend the Langham for a luxury city based break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzontour09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
2.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
1.2 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing