We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, walk to CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We arrived mid morning from the airport and the clerk was able to find us a room. The room was basic but very clean with a good ensuite. The front desk clerk also called to confirm our rental car pick up for the next morning. We wear able to easily walk downtown and see all the sites and we were not bothered by any street noise that night. We were up very early the next am and the front desk clerk allowed us into the continental breakfast area early. It was a perfect start to our New Zealand RWC trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very well located, but away from the noisy part of downtown. Newly decorated. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to upgrade from a Hostel type option, to a good value hotel-style place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Small rooms, which vary from room to room. Barely enough room to put a large suitcase and certainly nowhere to hang clothes. Shared showers which show in the price of the rooms I guess. Good cheap place to la your head but nothing more

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEggChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Old StyleHotel, affordable and close to city. I travelled with a group of students and we stayed here prior to flying out of Auckland in the morning. Good sleep, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsdsd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I took a group of 40 Aussie students on ski trip organised by Ski Fever. After a fantastic tour skiing at Turoa, Jet boating, Lugging, Zorbing, we stayed at Kiwi International overnight for a days shopping in Auckland. The rooms were clean with new beds, sheets and pillows. I had the best night sleep. The staff were friendly and helpful. The dinner was tasty and filling and the hot breakfast was even better with the essential, a long black for me. I was then ready to start the shopping which again is a breeze because you just have to walk down the road and it’s all there. The location is a real bonus. I will certainly be staying there again as it can cater for large groups but also for individuals with a variety of rooms ranging from small to apartment style.

Room Tip: Check your room has an ensuite, there are lodge rooms and size of room, some are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Good option for a quite place on Upper Queen Street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I needed somewhere to stay overnight before an international flight, and expecting to spend the day sightseeing I had little need for much more than a bed. I booked a single room with ensuite for $79 and figured at that price (and with the RWC opening the night after) that if it wasn’t up to scratch it was only for a night.

I’m pleased to say that not only was it up to scratch, it was really good – the location (top of Queen St, just before K Road) was convenient for using the Airport Shuttle bus – the drop off and pickup points couldn’t have been closer – but the hotel is down a short driveway which shields it from the worst of the street noise.

Kiwi International would fit into the flashpackers end of the market, even my single room despite being small had a flat screen TV and clean modern furnishings, and the ensuite was clean and modern too.

There is a bar and restaurant downstairs, I didn’t use them but would have been happy to do so – but there is a string of great Asian restaurants across the road that beckoned and I tried those instead.

Checking in and out was painless, internet facilities are good and the secure storage locker is within sight of the front desk so I was very comfortable leaving my bags in there. As a smoker I’m banished outside, which I’m fine with as long as there’s somewhere to go, and sure enough they have a little bench and a bin tucked around the corner from the entrance.

I felt safe both in the hotel, and the surrounding neighbourhood. With the variety of rooms they offer the clientele are also varied – young through to mature, solo through to families.

On the odd occasion that I get up to Auckland for a break, I’ll be looking to stay here again. I’d especially recommend Kiwi International to travellers who appreciate hotels/hostels which aren’t trying to be party central for their guests, and those who already have a game plan for what they are going to do in Auckland and just need a base from which to do it.

Room Tip: The building is old (windows aren't sound proof) so ear plugs will be a help if you are sensitiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. I'm sure other travellers looking for good value and location at a reasonable price will find this helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
749 reviews
0.7 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
353 reviews
2.4 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,023 reviews
1.1 km away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
234 reviews
1.6 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: C$70 - C$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing