We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Kiwi Internation is centrally located in Queen Street Auckland. This is a budget accommodation, but do not be taken back by that. The rooms are well appointed with seperate ensuite, flat screen tv, tea / coffee, with room serviced daily. The restraunt has good variety of meals and well priced, with a licenced bar. There is bus service on Queen st. If you are going to the airport, use there taxi service, it is only $35 to the airport.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room with a ensuite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MACK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thanks for the review. I think it sums the property up well. It is in a budget category where value for money is important. I agree with the reviewer's tip. Go for the ensuites, much nicer and that's the main room style for the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed in a family room with four beds. Hotel got renovated just recently, so everything was very clean and comfortable. Location was excellent, right on Queenstreet with convenient and free off street parking - hard to find in central Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Pro: Very good location, well priced.

Con: Room was not clean, had a very weird smell. Hallway was cold. Depending which room you are in the bed can be very uncomfortable, the first two nights I was in first floor and the bed was awful but my last night I was in 2nd floor and the bed was muhc better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for the high rating on value & location - those are the key attributes fo most hotel stays. We disagree with the low ratings given to the other catagories and are out of sync with other reviewers. The lack of comfort with the bed on the first night compared with a comfortable night the following seems odd given that all the beds are from the same manufacturer and all purchased new with the last 24 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Our Stay here was for 3 nights from 30Dec 2011 to the 2Jan 2012. The hotel was easy to find, Clean & staff friendly & helpful. The Red City link bus is just up around the corner at the intersection of Upper Queen st & Karangahape st. Taxis to the wharf are reasonably cheap & the taxi service that has tthe phone in the reception is the cheapest rates in town. The breakfast is probably above standard price but bacon & eggs is NZ$16. Walking down Queen st towards the city centre is ok but its a pretty hard walk up the incline of Queen st back to the Hotel. The Korean BBQ accross the road is a great place for dinner & the food is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3406E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Dec 2011. Booked via booking.com for 79 NZD per night (single ensuite). I originally wanted to move to another accommodation but I failed to notice the fine print that they will charge 1 night immediately upon booking. It’s okay for the price, but most likely will stay in another place if I ever visit Auckland again.

Pro:
• Relatively clean. Renovated bathroom.
• Room size is small but still manageable.
• Bright room – have window both in the bedroom and bathroom.
• They provide small TV, water kettle, towel.
• Location – it’s true that it’s a bit of long stroll to the heart of city. But still manageable. The airport bus also stopped in front of the hotel. It is not so “uphill” like what other reviews were mentioning, it’s just a bit incline; not like climbing a mountain or anything 

Cons:
• Very old rickety elevator that gives you a big bump every time it stopped (as if it about to collapsed). I ended up taking the stairs half of the time. I was even tempted to ask the reception whether the building used to be a hospital or something, because the hallway sure looks like one with the white swing doors and everything.
• No holder in the shower cubicle, so I need to place my soap & shampoo outside the shower cubicle – which is a bit awkward although manageable.
• No air con (but this is typical in NZ), so you need to open the windows. But then you’ll hear street noises a bit. I can still sleep though.
• What really bothers me about this property is if someone said something that is not favoring the hotel in any way in tripadvisor, the hotel representative tends to give comment back in a very defensive tone (what happened to freedom of speech?) It is their rights to clarify few things, but it’s just the defensiveness that rang the alarms for me. For me it showed negative character which will make me very worried in case there’s any issue to be discussed with the hotel (i.e. differences in bill, missing booking, etc).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ti_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel. It is in a fantastic central location so that you can walk to most city attractions, including the wharf as well as the Museum, and is on the city bus route too. It's a lovely old building, but done up nicely, with a great coffee machine at breakfast too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Pleasantly surprised by the Kiwi - more a budget hotel than a backpackers. Hotel service is minimal but that's fine by me - there's a travel agency near reception to book trips. My ensuite room was clean and comfortable with decent bathroom, kettle etc and fairly quiet, considering the location (top of Queen St, few mins walk to K Rd cafes and shops, & down to Aotea Square theatres etc through pleasant park). Excellent bus connections on new Link service (free red bus to & from Britomart) and airport bus stops right outside/opposite. As a single middle-aged woman felt perfectly safe and happy to spend a few nights here while exploring the city and surrounds (Devonport, gulf islands, Mission Bay, and fantastic west coast trip with Waitakere)

Room Tip: rooms at back probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMVReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
2.4 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
0.7 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,008 reviews
1.1 km away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
230 reviews
1.6 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $57 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing