We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
91
311
250
69
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
311
250
69
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsk roadqueen strooms are basicairport busplace to sleeptea and coffeetwin roomsky towerfirst stopshort staypleasant staynew zealandcity centreconvenient locationensuiteaucklandaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 766 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed in a family room with four beds. Hotel got renovated just recently, so everything was very clean and comfortable. Location was excellent, right on Queenstreet with convenient and free off street parking - hard to find in central Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Pro: Very good location, well priced.

Con: Room was not clean, had a very weird smell. Hallway was cold. Depending which room you are in the bed can be very uncomfortable, the first two nights I was in first floor and the bed was awful but my last night I was in 2nd floor and the bed was muhc better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thank you for the high rating on value & location - those are the key attributes fo most hotel stays. We disagree with the low ratings given to the other catagories and are out of sync with other reviewers. The lack of comfort with the bed on the first night compared with a comfortable night the following seems odd given that all the beds are from the same manufacturer and all purchased new with the last 24 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our Stay here was for 3 nights from 30Dec 2011 to the 2Jan 2012. The hotel was easy to find, Clean & staff friendly & helpful. The Red City link bus is just up around the corner at the intersection of Upper Queen st & Karangahape st. Taxis to the wharf are reasonably cheap & the taxi service that has tthe phone in the reception is the cheapest rates in town. The breakfast is probably above standard price but bacon & eggs is NZ$16. Walking down Queen st towards the city centre is ok but its a pretty hard walk up the incline of Queen st back to the Hotel. The Korean BBQ accross the road is a great place for dinner & the food is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3406E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Dec 2011. Booked via booking.com for 79 NZD per night (single ensuite). I originally wanted to move to another accommodation but I failed to notice the fine print that they will charge 1 night immediately upon booking. It’s okay for the price, but most likely will stay in another place if I ever visit Auckland again.

Pro:
• Relatively clean. Renovated bathroom.
• Room size is small but still manageable.
• Bright room – have window both in the bedroom and bathroom.
• They provide small TV, water kettle, towel.
• Location – it’s true that it’s a bit of long stroll to the heart of city. But still manageable. The airport bus also stopped in front of the hotel. It is not so “uphill” like what other reviews were mentioning, it’s just a bit incline; not like climbing a mountain or anything 

Cons:
• Very old rickety elevator that gives you a big bump every time it stopped (as if it about to collapsed). I ended up taking the stairs half of the time. I was even tempted to ask the reception whether the building used to be a hospital or something, because the hallway sure looks like one with the white swing doors and everything.
• No holder in the shower cubicle, so I need to place my soap & shampoo outside the shower cubicle – which is a bit awkward although manageable.
• No air con (but this is typical in NZ), so you need to open the windows. But then you’ll hear street noises a bit. I can still sleep though.
• What really bothers me about this property is if someone said something that is not favoring the hotel in any way in tripadvisor, the hotel representative tends to give comment back in a very defensive tone (what happened to freedom of speech?) It is their rights to clarify few things, but it’s just the defensiveness that rang the alarms for me. For me it showed negative character which will make me very worried in case there’s any issue to be discussed with the hotel (i.e. differences in bill, missing booking, etc).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ti_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel. It is in a fantastic central location so that you can walk to most city attractions, including the wharf as well as the Museum, and is on the city bus route too. It's a lovely old building, but done up nicely, with a great coffee machine at breakfast too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews