We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but budget friendly and surprisingly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed one night in a single ensuite and although the decor was rather bland and basic, it was quite pleasant overall.

The hotel is situated at the top of Queen St near to K Road. This made for a bit of a gruellng walk up with my luggage in tow so I suggest you take a bus/taxi if coming from downtown. Check-in was quick but in order to get to the 3rd floor, you have to take one lift to 2nd and another to get to 3rd. It was a bit 'maze like' so ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room to avoid lift insanity.

My room was fairly big, clean with a comfortable bed, well stocked tea/coffee making facilities, nice flat screen and the bathroom was decent too. Had a great sleep too, no noise outside. Only negatives is the shower wasn't powerful so water kind of dribbled out and there is nowhere to hang your clothes. Otherwise, its probably the best value in the city.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thanks for your positive review. We agree that the 3rd floor can be a bit frustrating to get to as that wing was added later and the showers there are not strong like the others but the rooms are quiet and have nice view over the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

Friendly, efficient staff. Room was very clean and nice, also bigger than I expected and had a wash basin and reading lamp. Only downfall is that it is almost at the very top of Queen Street and so it was a bit of a hike up with heavy bags... but if you have reasonable luggage (unlike me) it would be fine.
I had a private single room with shared bathroom... no problems, everything was clean and there was lots of hot water.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applekoko19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thanks for the very positive review. If you have to come from downtown there's a 50 cent bus that goes every 10 minutes and stops almost directly outside us. (as does the airport bus both ways) We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

A reasonably priced, clean hotel... a step up from a hostel. Crappy neighborhood. Not much around, but it was walking distance to the Intercity bus terminal, which made it convenient. Front desk staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you found it good value. Interestingly the only reviewer ever to find the location not to their liking. Thanks for mentioning te front desk staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed in an economic room with shared bathroom and showers. The room was clean and functional with a sink and a small desk. There is central heating in the room, which was a good thing given the poor insulation standard of buildings in New-Zealand (single-layer windows thin walls etc.) Unfortunately, no heating in the showers, and the window was a piece of plastic, so it was pretty cold in August. This is probably my only complaint. Showers and toilets were very clean.
The breakfast in the morning is not worth the price, but there are plenty of cafés withing walking distance. The hotel is well situated at the end of Queen street, within walking distance of the CBD.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plut0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Very good
5 star or Langham it is not but the amenities were clean and all usable and the staff worked at making my stay hassle free
Would stay there again with out thinking about it twice
Easy walking distance to everything and a above averageBreakfast kitchen rounded off the whole experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thank you for your very positive review and confimration that we met your expectations. Staff always appreciate a mention. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Kiwi International is a budget hotel room which falls between a backpackers and a normal hotel room. It is fine for short stays were you are not stuck in your room too much. There is tea & coffee facilities, but no fridge.

Room Tip: Use it for short stays and don't expect anything too flash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thank you for your review. Our ensuite rooms have LCD TV, phone, hairdryer tea & coffee making, free parking, wi-fi and a premium location. True, there's no fridge or mini-bar so that separates us from 4 and 5 star properties. We are about giving value for money in a great central location - backed by TripAdvisor #1 rating "Best Value" category for Central Auckand Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. Its fairly budget but hey its a bed (which was comfortable) and a bathroom, what more do you need. I found it good value for money. It was a little bit noisey but nothing too much to worry about. Perfect place if you want a bed in a greta central location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haydengiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
744 reviews
2.4 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
105 reviews
0.7 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,022 reviews
1.1 km away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
233 reviews
1.6 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing