We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, tidy and value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Backpackers Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Microtel Backpackers Hamilton
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“clean, tidy and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

After reading the last review thought better add a review as I felt it was a great place to stay was there for 4 nights and my linen was clean fresh, rooms were serviced daily the staff were helpful, friendly and funny.

The rooms are small but have everything I need and that didn't put me off as it is a modern hostel with good lounge. Hostel has just had a major refurbishment and is looking good, nice and vibrant.

I'd recomend it thanks microtel for the good stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
2
20
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

It was a major disappointment. The room was as small as 3 square meter. all the beddings were dusty, stinky, dirty, and totally disgusting. the corridor was narrow and dirty with construction material left on the ground. There was no heater in the room and when I asked for one, the staff said not all the rooms have heater. We stayed for 3 nights there was no single change of any thing (sheets, rubbish, ...) . The staff couldn't even confirm my reservaion so he asked me to login to my personal email address and show him the confirmation email I received from YHA (Youth Hostel Association).
The room was so dusty that I gut sick and couldn't breath.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skimath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

having read other reviews, i had to write about my experience of this hostel. It looks to me that when i was there the place was three quarters of a way through a major renovation.
The communal areas looked nice, clean and relaxing. Must admit sisnt use them as i went in to town which is only a 10 min stroll.
I stopped for one night in a single room with shared bathroom. the room was small but comfortable with a small tv. had no problems with noise and the bathroom was spotless.
check in was easy and the lady who served me very frinedly and very helpful with all the questions i asked. this was the second time i have travelled to nz and this place is very resonable a nd clean for its price compared to a lot of other hostels i stopped in while i was there. Plenty of parking on site however if you making an early start it may be better if you park at the front so you dont have a lot of reversing to do when trying to get out when your still very sleey.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

I stayed at the Mircotel as a single female for 2 weeks (Aug 17-28th) to attend a course, in a single room w/shared bathroom. The bed was comfy, the water was always very hot and high pressure, clean towels & bathroom/toilet, and my room was serviced every day. Microtel is close to town, good off-street parking, clean, modern, great atmosphere, and safe. I have stayed at many places overseas in the past few months, and I can tell you the Microtel is good value for money and Karen and Rob are great hosts. I plan to stay here again at the end of the year. I have also seen the studio rooms and they too are clean, modern, and nicely appointed. Ignore KWICKSGIRL's review, her guest etiquette is no doubt worse than her grammar - that says it all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

what air conditioning ? its stuffy in there and its still winter imagen what it would be like in the summer , it smells like old persons fart, and there is only one tiny window that dont even have a brezze coming through, the shower and toilet was untidy, the hostel lady is a grump and rude maybe shes just like that to a selected few but my group of friends where treated rudely and our personal spaces where invaded left a light on in our room and when we came back the light was turned of, this could not had been done unless someone had entered the room with a key, we found her to be unprofessional no ID was asked for No recepit given and we had to find our own way to our rooms. other guest that where staying there where drinking and highly intoxicated is this appropriate behaviour for a hostel that is so close to the CBD and some of the guests where asked to leave (like find another accomodation) at 11.30 pm by the hostel lady and she knew they where highly intoxicated - guess? how they got their BY CAR!! guess? how they left BY CAR!!, this was not right she should had not let them drink here in the first place knowing to right they would get intoxicated and loud and out of control she did not show good host responsibilty nor did she own the problem when it was a dressed, they could had caused an accident on the road not only did she put them in danger she put others at risk as well,she should had not kicked them out if she let them get that way in first places, there was nothing in place for a back up for this kind of behivour no other transportation was provided or other alternatives. I would not reccomend this place to stay unless you want to stay in a grampy tiny room with a smell and a unprofessional, grumpy,hostel lady

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwicksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

this is hands down the most disgusting and awful place I've ever stayed - and I recently backpacked around india!!!
we booked online as we were arriving late and figured it looked ok on the website and it was only one night. if it hadn't been so late I would have left and checked into another hotel/motel.
The room was tiny, like the other review, it stank like it hadn't been aired in the last ten years, the blinds were broken so anyone walking past (it was ground floor) could look straight in, the were hairs all over the pillows and sheets had marks that led us to believe the bedding had not been changed from the last guests! the door didn't lock so we had to hang a blanket over the broken blinds and prop a chair in front of the door.
we were promptly woken by a smoker with a hacking, flemy cough sitting outside near our room spitting on the ground.
would never ever stay there again. a complete rip off even considering it was only $100 a night.

  • Liked — Nothing!!!!
  • Disliked — Filthy,old, smelly, door didn't lock, spitting smoker outside door
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teamjayzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

We stayed in the studio with shower ensuite. The room was very compact, however this was fine as it is what we had expected and we were only staying one night. However we were disgusted by the cleanliness of the unit. It smelt very musty when we first arrived, like the window/door had not been opened, this was fixed by opening the window and airing the room out. The kitchenette was good, except for having to try to fill the jug in the bathroom handbasin (which because of the style of the tap proved a little difficult). We were disgusted that the coffee mugs that were provided were filthy, with coffee stains in the bottom, and mouth marks round the rim. Not surprising though, the tiny dishwashing liquid container was empty, and they would have had to been washed in the bathroom handbasin anyway. There was no soap in the either of the two dispensers in bathroom. The batteries in the TV remote were flat. When we arrived back after dinner there were no parking spaces available. We were told we could park in the car park of a place next door (we said we would be checking out at 10am, and parking there till then was apparently ok). We also thought this was kind of rude as we were staying in one of the more expensive rooms. The next morning at approx 8.15am, we were woken by a phone call telling us we had to move our car. Pretty rude, we would have parked on the street if we had known we would be woken early. On top of all this the spa was out of order (dont think i would have used it anyway looking at the cleanliness everywhere else). The unit could have done with some soundproofing also as it was on ground floor with stairs above it and driveway beside it. This motel is cheap and you barely what you pay for, and for less you can get better staying in a cabin at a motor camp.

  • Disliked — It was not clean
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.1 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.8 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#15 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.2 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.2 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.5 km away
VR Hamilton Hotel
VR Hamilton Hotel
#51 of 64 in Hamilton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Backpackers Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Backpackers Hamilton

Property: Microtel Backpackers Hamilton
Address: 140 Ulster Street, Hamilton, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Hamilton Microtel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Backpackers Hamilton 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Microtel Backpackers Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Hamilton
Hamilton Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing