We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, sparkling clean and comfortable”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here with my daughter as part of our tour around NZ. the sitting room which included a small, but perfectly formed cooking area, was large as was the bedroom and bathroom. The former had a spa bath.
The cooking facilities here were contemporary and looked new - utensils were provided.
There was an army of cleaning women here, who did a fantastic job. Thank you to them and to the management, who clearly know their trade.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidonia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed one night and liked it a lot.
Only real black mark was no free wifi - many places are now offering this and at this level it should be standard. Essential for travellers.
Other than that, very hard to fault. Great room, comfy bed, plenty of seating and sofas plus a good kitchen area with everything we needed to cook our own breakfast.
Location excellent too - 5 min walk to town along marine parade.
Very friendly too.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We found booking in March and the rates were very good. We had beach views magnificent to wake up to, but the trucks were very very loud and we didn't think. If we stayed again we would stay away from the beach views. The rooms were spotlessly clean and couldn't fault it in any way. Loved the decor.

Room Tip: Away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Probably a very nice motel when new, but looking a little tired these days.
I was happy to be given one of the ground level rooms facing the ocean but when I entered the room it smelt unbelievable musty.
Maybe they've got a rising damp problem.
Airing it out before hand might have helped.
Charging a lower price wouldn't have hurt either.
There are better places to stay in Napier for the same money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here and I love it. The rooms are lovely, clean and modern and the huge spa bath is awesome... Would totally reccomend staying here, seems a shame to see the bad feedback as I have had excellent experiences!
Sarah A

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Lovely suite and oh so clean and comfty. Breakfast was ok. Good location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balichick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 as part of a trip around NZ. We have stayed here before so were keen to go back again. Our room had a fantastic view out to sea .All rooms have a large double person spa in the bedroom area which is great for a romantic getaway. Its a short walk into town with easy access if your driving . Booking by phone was easy .

I would definitely stay here again and again ........

Room Tip: Top rooms can get a bit of noise from the wind if its windy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.0 km away
The County Hotel Napier
0.9 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
2.6 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
797 reviews
0.2 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $147 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing