We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service Take 2”

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #17 of 232 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: International, Bar, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days from 7am to 11 pm Emporium is the award winning bar and restaurant at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, in buzzing inner city Napier. Emporium has a truly unique look and feel mixing the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building. Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a contemporary menu and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade. Enjoy long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Called into the Emporium at about 12.30pm on the 13th March 2018 for an early lunch prior to a 2pm Art Deco Walk departing from across the road. We approached a male staff member working on a computer, he turned and looked at us and then returned to working on his computer without even acknowledging our presence or offering assistance. We then approached two female staff members behind the main bar in conversation at the cash register. After waiting in vain to be acknowledged we asked for a menu, they pointed to a stand back near the entrance and then returned to whatever task was more important than tending to their customers. We decided to leave with our money never to return. In was not surprising that in the middle of the day there were only four people at tables that we could see, two outside and two inside so maybe we were not the first to depart for a lack of service on this particular day.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napierhotels, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Emporium Eatery & Bar, I am sorry to hear that your experience in March wasn’t a positive one and I do apologize that you felt our team didn't acknowledge you or take the time to look after toy properly. Here at the Emporium we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service as well as an extensive food & Beverage option and I am disappointed that this time we didn’t live up to our own high expectations. Please contact me at Emporium@masonic.co.nz as I would appreciate hearing more about your experience and I do hope that you will give us an opportunity to wow you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

Ate our meal outside on a sunny Napier day. Opportunities for shade or sun.
Meal was too large and we could have shared one between us.
Very good wine selection.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank WendyF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Lovely place, got a really nice feel to it. Had Eggs & Ham and a decaf coffee. The coffee was lovely and creamy, but lacked the coffee and was only slightly warm.
The eggs and ham was very nice, no major complaints except the poached eggs did not have the creamy runny yokes you expect, so were slightly overcooked.
Staff were nice.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank k2512b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

I think the word 'eclectic' best describes this establishment. Napier promotes itself for its 'art-deco' styling, yet the ambience this establishments' styling created, appeared to be of an earlier era.

The menu left us bewildered. It offered a disjointed array of entree's, mains & sides that made no sense. Entree's didn't tie in with mains & nor did sides. It was as if it was using the one menu to cater to disparate groups of patrons with differing requirements. The expression 'neither fish nor fowl' comes to mind.

It would do better to create two menus. One with snacks & light meals & another that caters to those looking for a more complete dinner.

All in all it was an enjoyable evening, if a little confusing.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Criticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I enjoyed a salad and pizza here; the menu isn't vast but everything looked good. It took quite a while to get served, but it was a Friday night and the surroundings are very nice. The beer offering is also also faily decent and the location is perfect for a stroll down the beachfront before or after your meal.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Turtleking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing