We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefully Furnished B&B in Great Location”
Review of Manor on Parade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor on Parade
Ranked #34 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tastefully Furnished B&B in Great Location”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We chose to stay at Manor on Parade for a relaxing honeymoon getaway in Napier (3 nights). Judy responded to our e-mail query very promptly. The back room with the deck was available so we booked this. Our room was cosy, private and spacious enough for two. The bed was large and comfortable, with fresh linen. We found a selection of teas and plunger coffee in our room, and even a few chocolates upon arrival. The bathroom was clean and modern - the shower seemed new and there were the usual amenities such as a hairdryer, hand soap and body wash. The shampoo and conditioner were from a eco-friendly range (Natural Earth) and there were even sachets of make up remover towelettes from the same range, which I appreciated! The Continental breakfasts here were a highlight for us - cereals, toast, jams, sweet local fruit, delicious apricot danishes, orange juice, teas and coffee. The location of Manor on Parade was perfect for what we were after - so close to the centre of town and its attractions, and right by the water. There is also a great ice cream shop across the road from the B&B. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zy-akl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

From the time we arrived our host and hostess made us most welcome. We enjoyed being able to refresh and unwind in the first class room with the beautiful deck on a wonderful sunny Napier day! Everything in our room spoke of relaxation, convenience and luxury! We enjoyed ample space, comfortable beds and luxury linens and sumptuous breakfast. What a wonderful way to get away and enjoy the beauty of a perfect Napier time out. Thank you so much Judy and Colin for a wonderful and relaxing interlude. We'll be back!!

Will and Marg (Canada\0

Room Tip: Room at the back was quiet and had a beautifu deck for summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The bedroom was newly decorated & the furnishings, bedding & towels were of excellent quality which was noticeable, lovely & appreciated. The room was very clean & the deck was an added bonus with wine glasses etc being available so we could enjoy the deck. The breakfast was a wonderful platter of fresh, prepared fruits & Danish pastries & toast. There is no parking but there is cheap parking across the road which is fine. Most of the B&Bs we have stayed in have more interaction with the hosts offering up tips on things to do & restaurants so this B&B has more of an hotel approach & has lots of pamphlets & when we asked questions we were given a full answer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed just one night at manor on parade. We where friendly welcomed by Colin. We could choose any off the three rooms and chose the room at the back with private deck. The rooms are really beautiful and look brand new. So does the bathroom. We enjoyed a sunny day in Napier, had a good night sleep and a wonderfull breakfast next morning. Everything you would like is there, fresh fruit, toast, thea, juice...! We would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: The room at the back has a sunny deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir-Rdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We can't recommend Manor on Parade highly enough.
The initial booking was handled efficiently and helpfully
The owners, Judy and Colin, were very accommodating about taking out suitcase as our flight in was earlyish and we wanted to explore the town
The position on the main parade at the seafront is ideal- the road is not busy [certainly by UK standards] and you can simply wander over the road to stroll along the seafront
It is just a couple of minutes walk to the town centre and the aquarium
The room itself was beautifully furnished with a very comfortable bed, with expensive looking sheets, drapes etc
The bathroom has obviously been installed recently and again was immaculately clean.

As others have said, the breakfast was fantastic- various breads, Danish pastries, jams, cereals and fresh fruit that was so beautifully presented that it seemed criminal to eat it [but we did anyway, and you will not get fresher fruit unless you own the farm]

The owners were friendly and helpful, and have obviously put a lot of work into their business. The best B+B we've ever stayed in

Room Tip: We had the room at the back of the building, but the others look every bit as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
797 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This review might be outdated soon but I thought I might give others a fair warning. When we arrived at the property we saw a large sign saying "on sale". Our inquiry gave the result that the hosts want to sell the B&B just because they thought they spend enough time in this business. So new hosts might comment on this review.

The building is located directly on the parade along the oceanfront, a short 500m walk to the aquarium and equally long to the art deco center of the city. We chose the backroom due to the ability to sit in the evening sun and have a glass of wine on the balcony. The room was clean, big enough for the two of us and our two large suitcases and had a nice modern bath with shampoo missing from the amenities (apart from this nothing to complain about but bring your own shampoo).

We spent two nights there and the room was well kept and had all needed things inside (including wine glasses). There is a fridge that is a communal one so you have to take care of your goods.

The breakfast was wonderfully prepared had some nice danish pastries, good marmelade, and even some cheeses but it lacked any cooked part and the coffee was standing in a large container (up to 12 cups) and kept warm during the whole time of the breakfast.

I think the two latter points were due to the more than obvious attitude of the hosts to keep as few contact with the guests as possible. On arrival we asked for some advice on a tour to wineries and received the more than "helpful" advice to go to the i-site. We do book b&b due to the normally more personalised service and the higher attentiveness and with that one exception we had a pretty good time in New Zealand but here the hosts confided themselves to the absolute minimum. Sorry to say even with the formal part (bedroom, cleanliness, breakfast) in general being ok, this attitude left us a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Googe, Owner at Manor on Parade, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
We're sorry you were disappointed in your stay at Manor On Parade.On your arrival you asked about M.O.P being for sale and we told you we were hoping to retire and do other things,why you feel the need to warn others about this I'm not sure.
You commented our breakfast was lacking something cooked,we don't offer a cooked breakfast it is continental with a lot of extra's.The 'container' of coffee you mentioned is a glass coffee pot on a Bravillo coffee machine keeping it hot for the guests convenience.
You obviously expect a lot of personal contact from a host,we have found guests come to Napier to enjoy the Art Deco,wineries etc.not to spend time with the hosts.
We have enjoyed many wonderful conversations with guests,received fabulous reviews and never before been accused of having a bad attitude.
This is the first time we have felt a need to respond to a review but we feel your comments are unjustified and untrue.
Judy and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Manor on Parade sits on a pleasant boulevard directly across from the ocean. We spent four nights in Room 1, which is located at the front of the house. We were traveling with friends who stayed in Room 2. Room 1 is quite spacious with a sitting area next to picture windows that span the room’s width and overlook the ocean. The room is tastefully decorated and appointed with comfortable furniture and quality linens. Serviced daily, the room is very clean (as is the whole house). The bathroom sparkles and looks brand new. The hostess, Judy, has nicely equipped the in-room kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, hot water kettle, a nice assortment of tea, French press, coffee grounds, milk in the fridge, plates, mugs, cups, flatware, cutting board, wine glasses, and a bottle opener. The four of us comfortably spent our evenings in the sitting area reviewing our day’s adventures while having wine and cheese. Judy’s continental breakfast preparation and presentation was a delight. Center stage each morning on the lace-covered table sat a large array of beautifully arranged fresh cut fruit flanked by fresh squeezed juice, baked goods, jams, and cheese. A sideboard was filled with a variety of cereals and multi-grain breads, yogurt, and a toaster.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. In addition to the aforementioned, Manor on Parade is within easy walking distance to groceries, restaurants, and downtown.

Room Tip: Front room (Room 1) ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toulousekittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.4 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.6 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#32 of 47 in Napier
112 reviews
0.4 km away
Quest Napier
Quest Napier
#4 of 35 in Napier
325 reviews
2.4 km away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#35 of 47 in Napier
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on Parade

Property: Manor on Parade
Address: 283 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing