We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend favourite”
Review of Albion Canteen

Albion Canteen
Ranked #82 of 232 Restaurants in Napier
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 28, 2018

The Albion has become our weekend favourite. The staff are friendly and will go that extra mile to make coffee to taste. We enjoy the eggs benedict and when available the sweet pastries are devine. The cafe itself is always clean , warm and inviting with great background music. The one criticism is some of the cabinet food is rather expensive for portion size.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank duamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Good variety freshly prepared food, coffee pretty good too. The menu changes daily. Also good soup on the menu.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AusTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Visited for the first time for lunch. I had vegetarian toasted Brussel sprout and hubby had meatballs and salad.
Food was lovely with generous portion sizes. Coffee was average, a bit bitter and tasted slightly burnt.
Lots of tables needed cleaning and seemed to be short of staff. Service was average at best. Food was great. Coffee average. 4/5.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Antarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Came across this café by accident. After exploring Napier on foot for an hour or so we needed a coffee break and there it was, the Albion Canteen. The staff were friendly and attentive, the café was busy which is always a good sign, was very clean and well lit with both indoor and outdoor seating and had an impressive array of food offerings including salads, cakes and sandwiches displayed in a cabinet. We choose toasted sandwiches and risotto cakes which were delicious and two very hot latte's to round out our order. If you are in the area pop in, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Good central spot, coffee tastes great, staff are friendly, plenty inside and outdoor seating
BUT
the cost of food and serving sizes are way too overpriced. I have tried to go back 5-10 tomes and I can’t get over how much everything costs.
The food is fine, haven’t had any issues, always pleasant but for a pleasant taste and the serving size of a side plate, I would rather go somewhere else.

This is one of those cafes people go and pay the price to be seen because it has that “cool trendy” vibe. No sneans or mainstream plz

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank efaz326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albion Canteen also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Albion Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing