We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven”
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Front of house Part view from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Front of house
Part view from the house
This is why we call it 'Moon Shadow'
Living/dining
living/kitchenette
living
living room open to terrace with 180 degree water views
master bedroom with super king bed
Master bedroom
Single bedroom with king single
Part of bathroom
Rain shower and Hand shower
luxurious products
from your private terrace
taste of beautiful garden
private residence
part of continental breakfast
continental breakfast
Breakfast served int your apartment
tropical garden plant
great sunrise viewed from your own terrace
what a beautiful run rise
very moody sunrise
sunrise, seen from your own terrace
another sunrise
sunrise, seen from your own terrace
tropical garden plant
tropical garden plant
flowers in our garden
tropical garden plant
amazing array of flowers
Garden and sea views
garden
garden
garden and terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Paihia, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
685tommyc
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at Moon Shadow for three days in March 2018. Our apartment overlooked the beautiful bay of islands. We believe this is one of the finest views in the world. The furnishings in our apartment were superb. The facilities in the apartment were superb. Our hosts Beat and Gerry were superb hosts. The champagne provided on our arrival was superb, as was the breakfast provided by our hosts. The apartment is close to the town and close to the various day trips available. Beat and Gerry arranged our restaurant dinners and daily trips. if you want to experience the highest quality of holiday accommodation we cannot recommend Moon Shadow enough.
Dr Chris Corns and Lyn Corns

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2018
Thank you Lyn and Chris for taking the time to write such a good review.
We do appreciate it so much when we get such good feed back, and we
can only say that it was a great pleasure looking after you two and making
this a very pleasant and memorable stay for you.
Let us hope we can see you again sometime, and we wish you only the
very best for your future.
Thank you again!
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best stay ever”
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

From the moment you arrive you are greeted like an old friend and feel so welcomed. We honestly can’t say enough about our 4 night stay. Beat and Gerry have gone above and beyond to make their home a comfortable place
to return to after a day of sight seeing. From the beautiful furnishings and art to the most spectacular views, they have thought of everything. The bed is comfy with nice linens. The living area is very private and large with a great sitting area with fridge and microwave. There is a huge deck overlooking the water. I could have sat outside all day enjoying the view. Beat was very helpful suggesting places to eat and making dinner reservations for us. Breakfast was a treat every morning with fresh juice and a delicious compote and croissants. We travel all over the world and have stayed in some beautiful places but our stay here was by far a high 5 star rating in our opinion. Yes the views are spectacular but the owners really make it a personal and unforgettable experience with their thoughtfulness and attention to detail. We can’t wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Erika, you and your husband Matt were the best guests we ever had, so nice, so polite and appreciative. It was such a pleasure hosting you, that we can only recommend you to anyone. We miss you, and we thank you for being such delightful people.
We wish you all the very best for your future, and hope very much to see you again!
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer7...
1 review
“A special category of accomodation”
Reviewed December 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wow! What a stunning location just minutes from the lovely waterfront of Paihia. The panoramic views over the water & islands are amazing and can be enjoyed from your private patio, and both the lounge and bedrooms. The apartment is fully equipped, beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail including the most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in. Breakfast was a continental feast, and we would come back just to have some of your amazing muesli and compote – they were delicious! Our wonderful hosts, Beat and Gerry made our stay so enjoyable with all their best advice on places to go and restaurants to visit. We loved staying at Moonshadow. It is accommodation in a class of it’s own. Thank you Beat & Gerry.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Thank YOU both for staying with us, and for writing such a fabulous review. We so much enjoyed having you as guests in our Moon Shadow,
and very much look forward to seeing you again.
We wish you both a very Happy Christmas.
Best wishes,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Summed up in a word....... superb!”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. If you look at the pictures of this fabulous b&b you will see why. The location is perfect, a few minutes from the charming waterfront town of Paihia. The views are panoramic and breathtaking from both your own private terrace and every room. The apartment is spacious, elegantly furnished, fully equipped and with beds that will guarantee the best night' sleep you!ve ever had. Breakfast is brought to you by the owners - and what a feast of home made and local delicacies. Superb. All of that is enough to warrant 5 stars- but I have yet to mention the wow factor that many others have commented upon. You couldn't find more welcoming, caring and gracious hosts than Gerry and Beat who go out of their way to make you feel special. I defy anyone to find anything as good as this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you John for your very kind revue.
You both have traveled the world and know standards; your opinions are therefore highly valued, and we thank you for your generosity. We hope you enjoy the rest of your New Zealand trip, and we would love to host you again sometime.
Please believe, the pleasure really was all ours.
Warmest regards,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnandsu...
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Moon Shadow - Stand out accommodation in the Bay of Islands”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are repeat visitors, back for a three night stay at Moon Shadow.... I did not think we could have improved on the first visit, but the second visit was even better! We both had the most comfortable sleeps in those luxurious beds followed by a lavish and delicious continental breakfast. We could not have wished for more. What struck us this time was the attention to detail. Moon Shadow is in a class of its own. In all the luxury boutiques and B&B's we have stayed at in New Zealand, we haven't come across anything remotely like Moon Shadow. Also I forgot to mention last time how helpful the hosts were assisting us to book tours etc. They even managed to get us a 10% discount. We will definitely be back a third time. Thank you Gerry and Beat for another memorable visit to the Bay of Islands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
It was so nice to see you back again! We so enjoyed making this a memorable stay for you! It is so rewarding to get such a stunning revue, as we do our very best to please our guests and offer accommodation of the highest standard seen in this area. We like to thank you very much for all the nice comments, it is much appreciated.
Until next time!!
Warm regards,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidia W
1 review
“This Has It All”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

If you are looking for an unforgettable experience when staying in Pahia, this is it.
Outstanding service, stunning views from your own balcony, unsurpassed comfort in a spacious and spotless apartment surrounded by a beautiful garden.
An excellent location, peaceful but only few minutes walk to central Pahia.
Over many years of world wide travel we have stayed in numerous luxury B&B’s and boutique lodges and this ranks among one of the best.
The owner’s genuine warmth and hospitality topped it off to make this one of our most memorable experiences.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you so much for such a good review, we really appreciate it, and we would love to see you back here one day, or we might see you in
Adelaide. You both were such lovely guests to have in our house.
It pleases us so much when our efforts are recognized and valued.
Thank you again, and all the very best,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JS M
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation, gorgeous view”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Moon Shadow is a fabulous place to stay, beautiful accommodation, stunning views,
spotless, and wonderful attention to detail. The hosts are friendly and worldly, and you feel well cared for without sacrificing privacy. The highest recommendation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Thank you both for a wonderful review.....it is much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing