We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We had three single beds even though we were a couple. Our shower pressure was so poor it took me almost 30 minutes to wash my hair. The water kept changing from really hot to really cold in an instant. Very uncomfortable. Food isn't the best quality but doable for a day of sightseeing. You do get kicked out of the dining area at the end of the time bracket per meal eg breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very basic and about a 5 minute walk to the shops. Room gets very hot even with a fan in the bathroom and with the door closed.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlwaysWantToTravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here as part of my Contiki trip, and I was in a 3 bed room. The room was very clean, the beds were a good size and the shower in the en suite was amazing! We had an included breakfast, and it was a standard continental with pancakes which was good!

Paihia is such a beautiful place, I don't think a luxurious hotel is particularly needed as there's a much to do around the town. It takes around 5 minutes to walk to the shops and beaches, and we also did the walk to Haruru Falls which was about a 3 and a half hour trip, via Waitangi.

The pool area looked really nice, but as the weather was so good when we went, we spent most of our time at the Bach so didn't use it. Apparently it was quite cold though!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jpd1232015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

two nights there, first night no hot water in the urn for making tea, told staff and was brought a glass jug of "boiled water" it may have been boiled ,, but 30 mins ago. You can not make tea with luke warm water. First breakfast was a buffet, sausages were full of lumps/grizzle , the bacon you could sole your shoes with. No beans no mushrooms no hash browns, no tomatoes. Second breakfast worse, no buffet. Was asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast. We got 1 sausage, dry over cooked ( reheated from the day before) 3 scrappy bits of bacon and a scoop of sloppy powdered egg. All of which my dog would not eat. Staff don't care, wi fi on off, room ok just. I hear the place is closing down, probably why the staff don't care. Sooner the better I say

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel had a great location but was very basic. The beds were comfortable and the shower was very powerful!! However, the tv had bad signal so we could only watch one channel. The wifi signal was rubbish and we could only access this in certain parts of the room. The carpet was grubby and torn in places. It was also very noisy, you could hear people talking upstairs and nearby.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank SpiderWebb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Great location, walking distance to everything. Very glad the room had a ceiling fan as it was very hot at night & this helped us to sleep. Very basic rooms. Wifi terrible, kept dropping off all the time. Breakfast not good. Most staff were friendly & helpful but not the woman at the front counter on our last day, quite grumpy & rude.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I stayed here only for 2 nights while on a Contiki tour and found the location of the hotel excellent. The TV in our room was very poor quality also wifi worked sometimes but usually dropped out. The rooms were quite basic and probably in need of renovating but overall it was still alright for a few nights. The breakfast was pretty good at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StephB1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Stayed for 2 nights to meet up with family members staying from overseas. Hotel was central, but needs to be updated & modernised. Our room had not been serviced when we returned at 4 pm, but shortly after the housekeeping staff offered to replace our towels, & coffee sachets. TV has very limited channels. Our room was upstairs and as we walked along to access it, we could see into other rooms, where guests were lying on their beds watching TV. It is close to the village, so we chose to eat breakfast at a cafe rather than in the dining room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dinnikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 km away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#18 of 43 in Paihia
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
0.6 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Paihia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $80 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing