We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
45
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean comfortable rooms cooking facilities stayed nights supermarket hosts tv pillows
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

Went up for the long weekend with the family (4 adults 2 children), stayed in the two bedroom apartment. The rooms were clean and modern, especially the bathrooms! Owners were awesome, often checked up on us and always friendly in our interactions. Located 50 metres from countdown and 100 metres from the beach it's in a really good location for those not looking to spend an arm and a leg on the Paihia "tourist" food prices and still enjoy the beach. Great price, good facilities and 5 star service. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank KoloneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Thank you , we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

We had a family of 5 stay for 5 nights. We were comfortable and had plenty of space. Gateway motel is in walking distance to the centre of town. It's a shame the spa wasn't working but you're so close to the beach it didn't really matter. Sherryn was really helpful with booking tours and the laundry! Lots of things to borrow like boogie boards and kayaks. We used to BBQ and pretty much everything was available to make your stay comfortable and easy. Rooms were very clean. Would definitely recommend for a short or long stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Thank you for your review '

Sherrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Nice relaxing spot. Away from the main part of town which we liked. Room was well maintained with good cooking facility's. Hosts are very nice and helpful. Room serviced each day which was nice. A great place to spend a week.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank StephenL1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Thank you for your review , Hope to see you in The Bay Of Islands again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

The only motel we have been that has unlimited wifi! The rooms were very clean. And bathrooms too! The proximity to supermarket, restaurants and shops were perfect! Kevin and Sharrin were very accomodating. I highly recommend this place. Truly enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank 304almae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2016

Thank you for the nice review.
We hope to see you back in Bay one day. .

Regards

Kevin & Sherrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Immaculate self contained large apartment, management were very friendly and helpful.
15 minute walk to Waitangi treaty ground and the same to Paihia. The Bay of Islands is truly a magical place and would love to come back one day...

Room Tip: Room 5 has 2 single beds & double, very spacious for a family.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_Adam2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Thank you , we hope you come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews