We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our school staff visited the Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort as part of a team building exercise. This incorporated a visit to Hell's Gate and Mokoia Island (which were absolutely fantastic) as well as lunch at the Resort. I can honestly say that this was the best meal I have ever had - the three course luncheon was totally DIVINE and none of our team of six could find ANY fault what-so-ever. The service was spectacular, with beautiful surroundings and settings and extremely friendly and accomodating staff. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Wonderful place to visit. We spent the day at the resort with colleagues. Visited Hells Gate and had a fantastic tour of the geothermal pools. Also visited Makoai Island which was spectacular. Tour guide highly knowledgable and friendly. Had lunch at the Lakeside Spa Resort and the food was superb and staff very friendly and helpful. Well worth the visit and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 in a Deluxe studio room, quite expensive, but you're paying for a fantastic waterside view. It's quite a way out of town itself, definitely a drive rather than a walk. Breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Had booked a romantic long weekend break and it was perfect. The staff really made it for us as nothing was too much trouble. In particular Praveen, Aaron and the girls at the spa. The spa therapists were excellent, very highly qualified and great attention to detail. Some of the best treatment sessions I have had for some time and the environment most welcoming. Certainly a very high quality spa and treatment menu.
Chef nearly was kidnapped and taken back to Auckland as his menus were brilliant. We dined in every night, which is rare for us, but wanted to savour everything on the menu. We also like the fact it is a relatively small hotel so the service was definitely personal and they all went the extra mile.
If there was a drawback it could be for some that you have to drive into town, but we saw that as an advantage to get away from the hustle, bustle and noise. Also, it is lake frontage and so very peaceful there with stunning views. My one comment for improvement was the pillows, need a choice, and they took that seriously so I look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: They all appeared to be good, very well equipped and all very slightly restricted view of lake as at...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Beautiful place to spend a lil romantic time away. The rooms are well appointed with nice fittings and decor and is very clean. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! They had a dvd library free of charge which was an added bonus. The thermal pool was highly enjoyable and the staff are friendly and they show you around before checking you into your room which leads me to believe 'they are a step above the rest'. The Mokoia restaurant is WELL WORTH a try, yum yum and more yum...don't go anywhere else for dinner!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very nice, high-end hotel; one of only two (among 14) we rated as a “5”. Lots of history, with roots back to when Rotorua was the spa capital of the country and drew internationally. We got a great government rate on the place so it didn’t cost any more than the many motels on the main street in town. This property is about 7km or 10 mins from “downtown”.

Super friendly and helpful staff. Very modern, sleek rooms. Very clean. Had a partial view of the lake in a quiet residential area.

Only glitch we had was wireless internet router wasn’t behaving; just used the lobby computer instead. We didn’t dine there, however, noted many local dining awards for beef and lamb. The restaurant is very formal.

Enjoyed the steam heated pool and manicured grounds. Nice extras like robes and slippers (it is a spa). Great, restful night in a very quiet environment.

A small point to know about Rotorua...all those natural spas are geothermally heated; town smells just a bit of sulfur.

Room Tip: Some rooms are closer to the lake they would offer modestly better views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have just had a couple weekend at Wai Ora Resort & Spa. What a place. The food is to die for. The staff are fantastic. Nothing was to much trouble. As it was to windy for the float plane to pick us up from the resort, we were driven to town. After our senic flight we alked to town for a ouple of rinks & then rang Wai Ora to pick us up. Thses guys rock. We enjoyed every thing about the place. This is a place to take a some one special to relax & enjoy eat good food without the kids. The staff here really do go the extra mile. Only downer for me was I found the bed a little hard but my husband loved it.

Room Tip: Top floor with the veiw & spa bath
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.0 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
4.7 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
11.1 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
4.5 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
203 reviews
5.9 km away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Address: 77 Robinson Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $154 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 10 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing