We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional and friendly”
Review of Volcanic Air

Volcanic Air
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.91*
and up
15-Minute Crater Lakes Flight by Helicopter from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer you an extensive range of scenic helicopter flights and scenic floatplane air tours.Land on the active Volcano of White Island or our dormant Volcano Mt Tarawera.View from above the dramatic and spectacular destination of Rotorua. The main theme of our scenic flight tours is to showcase the many crater lakes, volcanic and geothermal landscape of the region Rotorua and Bay of Plenty.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The first day we were scheduled to take a ride out to White Island we got rained out. The office was able to reschedule us for the next day which was also tentative due to weather. We lucked out and the day got even clearer as we took the ride to White Island and Mt. Terawara. The office staff were informative, safety conscientious and fun to talk with while we waited. Equipment was clean, pilot was attentive and informative as he guided us around some pretty scary terrain. Great experience! I would recommend them highly!

Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi Patricia,

Thank you for the kind words, it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us from start to finish. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and would like to thank you for flying with us.

Kind regards,
The Volcanic Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"active volcano"
in 24 reviews
"white island"
in 92 reviews
"float plane"
in 17 reviews
"helicopter trip"
in 14 reviews
"mt tarawera"
in 19 reviews
"great pilot"
in 8 reviews
"air safaris"
in 8 reviews
"live volcano"
in 7 reviews
"pilot guide"
in 5 reviews
"minute flight"
in 5 reviews
"low cloud"
in 4 reviews
"gas mask"
in 3 reviews
"the black swan"
in 3 reviews
"experienced pilot"
in 3 reviews
"aerial view"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 11 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 9 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time stepping into an active volcano this Easter, what an awesome experience! The smell of sulphur can be uncomfortable, we were given masks and helmets to use. We can see bubbling from the ground. It was such a beautiful day and no matter how much sunblock we used, we got red. Everyone must step into an active volcano once in their lifetime. We were so stoked!!!

Thank lcho2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi there,

It is a trip of a lifetime and one for the bucketlist! Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review, we really appreciate it.

Kind regards,
The Volcanic Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Not anything what could be done better. As good as it gets. From the first moment a great experience. Although it’s all about fun and an awesome experience it’s safety first. The pilot and tour guide is simply stunning, fun and highly knowledgeable. The help is well maintained. No better way to explore the area. We did the 2 volcano tour and it’s highly recommendable. It’s just stunning if you have good weather flying to White Island.

Thank Hendrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi Hendrik,

Thank you for leaving such a stunning review! It is great to hear that you loved the trip as much as we do. We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and thank you for flying with us.

Kind regards,
The Volcanic Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

My husband is a pilot who has his seaplane rating. So of course we had to take the floatplane ride offered by Volcanic Air! We were staying at the Black Swan Boutique hotel on Lake Rotorua. So our host called them up and the pilot 'drove' across the lake and picked us up at the hotel's dock which was fun. Our pilot, Paul, (and also my husband's name!) was very informative and entertaining as he flew us over the volcano and other sites around the lake. Seeing a place from the air always gives you a different perspective and we enjoyed this flight very much.

Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Hi Cheryl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your floatplane experience with Paul. We hope this was a highlight of your trip!

Many thanks,
The Volcanic Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcanic Air also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Volcanic Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing