We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Three One Three(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
419
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmick teresatreasure huntmueslicinema roomguinea pigsfeeding the animalscarrot cakesun roomnew zealandprivate cinemahome grownlady gagawonderful hostsnice chatswimming poolevery morningafternoon cakes
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 426 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2018

The Mokoia Downs Estate B&B was one of the best during our trip through New Zealand. Teresa and Mick welcomed us so lovely, with tea and a self made cake. Mick showed us the entire farm and invited us to use everything, the pool, the own cinema with a lovely terrace to the back and a barbecue grill we of course used. Sitting there and looking into the nature and watching all animals around was just amazing. Further highlights were tasting self made liqueurs at the bar and the absolut fantastic breakfast Teresa and Mick served. Everything was homemade, from the muesli, bread, marmalade and even different kind of egg dishes with several chutneys. Really one of the best places we ever had stayed in holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Mokoia Downs is an idyllic setting, surrounded by a beautiful outlook of water, flowers, trees and farm animals.

Mick and Teresa and exceptional hosts. We were greeted on arrival with homemade berry muffins and a cuppa which we enjoying in the sunroom while getting introduced to our home for the next few nights.  They were so helpful with suggestions of eating places and attractions in Rotorua, and also so comfortable to be around.  We enjoyed a nice chat with a glass of wine, and some delicious  liqueurs (distilled by Mick)  in the evenings.

All the special touches that Mick and Teresa added to our stay make Mokoia Downs such a wonderful experience.

One of the many highlights are the delicious homemade smoothies, muesli and yoghurt, and hot breakfast dish. The fresh from the farm eggs had been collected the day before by Teresa and the guests who are all welcomed to join her feeding the animals.

The flowers in the spotlessly clean rooms and ensuite were a beautiful touch.

When the rain set in one afternoon, we took refuge and watched a  DVD in the onsite Cinema. The Cinema is sizable with many DVD’s to choose from (and many many books)  - and also includes a well appointed kitchen where we made some lunch.

I loved the setting, the food, the animals, amenities and most of all the hosts that made our stay in Rotorua just amazing.


Thanks Mick and Teresa.


Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank KiwiWithWingsRings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018

Mick and Teresa have the most gorgeous BnB. The rooms and facilities were fabulous, the breakfast was scrumptious and all homemade or home grown. I even got to experience feeding the sheep, chickens, guinea pig, ducks and donkeys. Such an awesome place. Thank you Mick and Teresa for all your care and attention to my stay. Your place and you guys are the best. Vinessa

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Vinessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018

We fell in love with the owners, the B&B, the animals, the food and the estate. My experiences staying at a B&B has been extremely limited. When our travel agent booked us here, I was apprehensive, but understood that there was a reason why we were booked here. Mick and Teresa are as warm as the New Zealand sun shining through the pretty windows. I am not sure who does the cooking, or if it is a collective effort, but everything was perfect and homemade. Our daughter 'helped with chores', or feeding the sheep, donkeys, ducks and chickens. Our only regret is that were did not stay longer. Take the time to stay and enjoy this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Great location * animal experiences and feedings * beautiful grounds * roses * river * pool * best homemade breakfast of our lives * infused liquor tastings * happy chickens * best eggs ever * fresh garden herbs * fresh garden fruit * fresh garden veggies * private room * private entrance * comfortable bed * lovely outdoor areas * pond with ducks * canoe * cute lambs * donkeys * birds * bees * lavender * manuka * fresh baked bread * homemade yoghurt * homemade jams * interesting & fun hosts * local tips * short drive to city & all activities * extra appreciated touches.

If you are reading this and on the fence about whether to book this property, don't hesitate. We are a well traveled (45 countries) couple and this was in our top 3 bed & breakfast experiences ever. The breakfasts are to die for and something you couldn't find at an expensive 5 store hotel. We felt spoiled and were very happy. Feel free to watch the short home movie I made. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kharmalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews