We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn’t have asked for anything more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Mokoia Downs B&B for two nights on our journey through Australia and NZ in January 2018, and we couldn’t have asked for a better stay! The hospitality and kindness we were met with by Mick and Teresa exceeded our expectations by far (even though we had high expectations), and we were taken such good care of throughout our stay. The B&B itself is so nice and cozy and well taken care of. The food (fresh baked goods and breakfast) was absolutely lovely and most of the ingredients (vegetables, fruits, herbs, nuts, berries, eggs etc) comes from the B&B itself. Mick also makes his own Moonshine where he uses a lot of the herbs and fruits from the garden, and if you drink alcohol we highly recommended that you give it a try! There are also plenty of things to do at the B&B itself. We joined Teresa on her morning routine feeding the animals (donkeys, mini horse, sheep, hens, guinea pig and ducks), which was such a nice experience! We also collected eggs for the breakfast next morning. The main house has a library with a huge book collection containing everything from biographies and historic books to sports books and novels. There is also a cinema that has plenty (!) of movies to choose from. Here you can also prepare your own meals in the cinema kitchen if you want to just stay inside rather than go out. The B&B is located close to the lake, and you can also take a stroll down to the lake and see the surroundings. We most certainly want to return here if we ever come back to New Zealand. And - if your not planning on going to Rotorua in the first place, we’ll argue that it’s worth a detour!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anirak83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Mokoia Downs B&B is located in a beautiful, quiet property. The hosts, Mick and Teresa are both very hospitable and friendly. Feeding of the animals every morning were great fun for the children. Mick's recommendations for dinner in the nearby Rotorua were spot on.
Unfortunately, we were there during the recent few days of heavy rain in the North Island. But, the B&B has a fabulous small cinema hall for the use of the guests, with good projection and sound system, coupled with a few hundred titles of DVDs and free popcorn. Several thousand books are also available. Great place to escape from the rain.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank MerlionSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the beautiful setting of Mokoia Downs and were thrilled to be able to join Teresa on her morning rounds of feeding the animals. We certainly got a great kick out of delivering the fresh eggs to “Mick the eggman” for the next morning’s breakfast! Something I’m sure those travelling with small children would also find entertaining

The homemade muesli served at breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the on site cinema room was the perfect hideaway from the torrential rain during our stay. Well worth a visit!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The Mokoia Downs Estate B&B was one of the best during our trip through New Zealand. Teresa and Mick welcomed us so lovely, with tea and a self made cake. Mick showed us the entire farm and invited us to use everything, the pool, the own cinema with a lovely terrace to the back and a barbecue grill we of course used. Sitting there and looking into the nature and watching all animals around was just amazing. Further highlights were tasting self made liqueurs at the bar and the absolut fantastic breakfast Teresa and Mick served. Everything was homemade, from the muesli, bread, marmalade and even different kind of egg dishes with several chutneys. Really one of the best places we ever had stayed in holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Mokoia Downs is an idyllic setting, surrounded by a beautiful outlook of water, flowers, trees and farm animals.

Mick and Teresa and exceptional hosts. We were greeted on arrival with homemade berry muffins and a cuppa which we enjoying in the sunroom while getting introduced to our home for the next few nights.  They were so helpful with suggestions of eating places and attractions in Rotorua, and also so comfortable to be around.  We enjoyed a nice chat with a glass of wine, and some delicious  liqueurs (distilled by Mick)  in the evenings.

All the special touches that Mick and Teresa added to our stay make Mokoia Downs such a wonderful experience.

One of the many highlights are the delicious homemade smoothies, muesli and yoghurt, and hot breakfast dish. The fresh from the farm eggs had been collected the day before by Teresa and the guests who are all welcomed to join her feeding the animals.

The flowers in the spotlessly clean rooms and ensuite were a beautiful touch.

When the rain set in one afternoon, we took refuge and watched a  DVD in the onsite Cinema. The Cinema is sizable with many DVD’s to choose from (and many many books)  - and also includes a well appointed kitchen where we made some lunch.

I loved the setting, the food, the animals, amenities and most of all the hosts that made our stay in Rotorua just amazing.


Thanks Mick and Teresa.


Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank KiwiWithWingsRings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Mick and Teresa have the most gorgeous BnB. The rooms and facilities were fabulous, the breakfast was scrumptious and all homemade or home grown. I even got to experience feeding the sheep, chickens, guinea pig, ducks and donkeys. Such an awesome place. Thank you Mick and Teresa for all your care and attention to my stay. Your place and you guys are the best. Vinessa

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Vinessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We fell in love with the owners, the B&B, the animals, the food and the estate. My experiences staying at a B&B has been extremely limited. When our travel agent booked us here, I was apprehensive, but understood that there was a reason why we were booked here. Mick and Teresa are as warm as the New Zealand sun shining through the pretty windows. I am not sure who does the cooking, or if it is a collective effort, but everything was perfect and homemade. Our daughter 'helped with chores', or feeding the sheep, donkeys, ducks and chickens. Our only regret is that were did not stay longer. Take the time to stay and enjoy this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9.3 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
789 reviews
11.5 km away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 53 in Rotorua
522 reviews
2.4 km away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
10.7 km away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 91 in Rotorua
936 reviews
10.8 km away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: C$256 - C$274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing