We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hosts with the most!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hosts with the most!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great facilities & location, but really it was the hosts that made our stay - not only were they friendly and warm but they really went out of their way to be helpful, particularly in regard to our baby son (giving us a baby bath, use of a stroller if we needed and advice on activities and sightseeing that would be good with him). As our first family holiday travelling with a baby, we were a little nervous as to how we would go and having people at our accommodation be so helpful really took the stress out of our stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back of the complex, which was great... but I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    219
    35
    8
    1
See reviews for
206
482
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had one bedroom suite,was lovely clean,and bath was great loved all the extras in bathroom would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Silver Fern over Easter in a one bedroom suite with two children and spent a very pleasant two nights here. The suite was very modern and comfortable, nicely furnished and had televisions in both the lounge and bedroom. It was great to have a Pioneer dock to listen to music from our iPod and play DVDs provided for free from reception. The location on Fenton street provided easy access to town and one thing that I appreciated was the easy access for the car, so many motels have narrow, difficult to navigate driveways and parking spaces. The only faults I can mention was a bit of noise at night from the upstairs suite and the lack of cooking facilities in the suite. Otherwise I'd highly recommend the Silver Fern and would certainly stay here when next visiting Rotorua.

Room Tip: Maybe see if you can get an upstairs suite if possible to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankRizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Lovely room, tastefully decorated, very clean and very comfy. High quality and good value. The owners are very gracious and helpful. You can tell they really enjoy their job! Recommend going on the Maori Village tour--they will pick you up right at the hotel!

Room Tip: Corner suites on upper level quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Year-of-Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yandina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I had the most amazing and comfortable 7 night stay at The Silver Fern Rotorua. Everything was perfect, spotless and beautifully decorated. The staff were really nice and extremely helpful.
I have stayed in a lot of other place's in Rotorua over the years with the same dollar value and some times more and I can honestly say this is the best by far- good on you guys, you have done Rotorua accommodation proud. Your choice of colours internally and externally are fantastic, soft, vibrant, comfortable, relaxing and refreshing. Well done keep up the good work!!! I highly recommend The Silver Fern to everyone out there - I'll be back!

Thank you so much

Linda
Yandina QLD 4561
PS Sorry no photo next time

Room Tip: The studio room was perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Allan and Shirley were the friendliest hosts - nothing was too much trouble and they had great advice for things to do in Rotorua.

We stayed in the two bedroom suite for three nights which was spotless and all amenities provided. They even provided us with a baby bath and high chair which were both very helpful (esp the bath, as the spa tub was very deep)

The motel itself is fairly close to two supermarkets (about 1.5 km away, so a nice walk) and there is a spa on site (didn't get to try it but it looked quite nice).

There is a washing machine available for use by guests and a dryer which you had to pay for ($3)... also laundry racks so you can air dry the clothes at the back of the property (a godsend when you have a toddler and a baby)

Would definitely come back again! Thanks again Allan and Shirley !

Room Tip: The suites facing the back are better if your kids are light sleepers as Fenton St is quite busy Ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asa81u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 days at this excellent property and could not fault it. The staff were efficient and always aimed to fulfill every request. Our room was exceptionally clean, modern and comfortable. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for accommodation in Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.3 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
12.7 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 km away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 km away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing