We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little corner of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rototaha Lodge

Enjoy the beautiful view of Lake Ohakuri from the lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the beautiful view of Lake Ohakuri from the lounge.
Afternoon tea An evening wine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Enjoy the beautiful view of Lake Ohakuri from the lounge.
Afternoon tea
An evening wine
Make your own meals in the modern kitchen or have them made for you.
Perfect spot for a good wine and good book
Modern kitchen appliances including a washing machine/clothes dryer.
Upstairs bedroom with luxury linens
Upstairs ensuite
Downstairs bedroom view
Downstairs bedroom with luxury linen
Downstairs bathroom
Rototaha Lodge hidden in the Larch trees
Have a BBQ in the afternoon sun
Light the fire pit and enjoy the evening stars
Lake Ohakuri
Let us arrange scenic helecopter flight, you'll be picked up just outside your door.
Autumn colours
Spring time
Classic New Zealand - Tui's and Kowhai
Privacy!!
Take a walk around the properties beautiful and varied gardens
Mangnolia in bloom
Cherry blossoms.
Daffodils
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rotorua, Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Falcon123...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little corner of paradise ”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The location of the property alone would earn it five stars, but what really clinches it is the care of the hosts. The fireplace, for example, was prepared with kindling, pine cones and newspaper, so that one match was enough to start a blaze. But what a place. The stillness was perforated only by birdsong. The view of the hills and lake must rank among the most picturesque scenes to be enjoyed from any lodge anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FayFayLam
Macau, China
1 review
“Dream house!”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The owners, Mandy and Hugh are very nice. They had prepared cookies and blueberries for our arrival and fresh eggs for our breakfast. Lovely! The house is stylish and well equipped! The surrounding are really fantastic, we always see rabbits around the house. It makes us closer to the nature. There are no restaurants nearby so must prepare food by yourself. The house is near to the tourist attractions, around an hour drive and around 45 minutes drive to supermarkets. Thanks Mandy and Hugh again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a short stay with my wife and two sons in January 2017. Stunning, secluded and tranquil location. House overlooks a beautiful lake - there are a couple of kayaks so time on the lake is an essential. Excellent accommodation - beatifully furnished and equipped. Made us want to move to NZ if we could live here. We didn't want to leave. No wifi but you won't miss it. Staying here is an absolute must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyanna22...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had such a lovely stay hosted by Mandy and Hugh. Our children loved the cottage and asked to stay longer. The lake was beautiful and we enjoyed a fire in the evenings. Mandy keeps the cottage tidy and stocked. We had fresh fruit and some eggs for breakfast. We were a bit of a drive from civilization but we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. We hope to visit again some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks for the lovely review Joy, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarey21
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect experience!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this lovely lodge for 2 nights with my family. We had the most wonderful time as Hugh and Mandy (fantastic hosts) did everything they could to make our time there comfortable and homey. It really was like a home because they provided us with all the extras and we even got to try Mandy's amazing home made choc chip cookies. Nothing was too much for them but they also gave us our privacy!

Hugh took us on a wonderful walking tour of the property and we had tea with them later. We never needed to leave the property because there is plenty of walking around to do. It was great to just relax and take in the fresh air and scenery. We also had great fun kayaking and swinging on the rope over the lake. The property is completely secluded and we felt safe being able to roam around freely with our two dogs. We were also able to appreciate the property more by learning about all the trees planted by Hugh.

It was such a shame we didn't get to try Mandy's home cooked meals though and coming in April, the weather was getting cold and wet and there weren't many veges in season. However this was all made up by the hospitality we received. It was also nice to get the fire going (we had the inside one on the first day and the fire pit outside in the second day).

If you are looking for a place to relax the mind and body, you will find that here. The hospitality, amenities and environment were all 5 stars! We would love to be back again one day!

Thank you Hugh and Mandy, it was perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passionat...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Place!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Rototaha Lodge is one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed at. It is located between Rotorua and Taupo, which means It is accessible from both locations. Getting there is part of the adventure since it is some
way off the main road between Rotorua and Taupo But for us that was part of the attraction situated beside a stunning lake. We were the only guests and had all the tranquillity we desired, plus had a wonderful dinner with the owners who were very accommodating and super friendly. I highly recommend this place, especially if you want to be in nature and away from the stresses of life for a day or more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siegfr
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
We are so glad you felt so relaxed at our property and enjoyed the New Zealand vibe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing