We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
201
89
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
89
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral spasmall complexprivate thermal poolfree wififull kitchenshort walk into townkuirau parkthermal heatinga great staymain roadserviced dailyroom was largestayed longeronly stayed one nightbed was very comfortablenew zealandlaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 317 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Yes there were road works but they didn't bother us. We only stayed one night (mother and 8 year old daughter). Great location, close to heaps of things. We swam in the outdoor pool and soaked in the spa. The room was fantastic and we would stay there again. Lovely mangement too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the duluxe room which looks to be the most modern and is closest to the spa.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Kia Ora Shelley, we are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us in our Deluxe Studio and made the most of our swimming pool & mineral spa. We plan to be doing the other studios to this standard mid next year and this is also the same standard in our Deluxe One Bedrooms. We look forward to seeing you again and being able to host another mini escape break for you. Take care - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2012

that events out of their control took the edge off our stay. Roadworks outside meant noise, though at least they stopped at dinnertime. Don't expect a long lie until they finish though. Then the internet server crashed for a day, no nighttime youtube for Dad. But, great location close to bakery, wine store, fish and chips and the big park. Outdoor pool was so lovely and warm, even on a cold morning. Private spa also awesome. Nice new bedding, with a lovely double in the lounge as well as my sons in the bedroom. Def need to either close or fix the trampoline please: the safetly padding has rotted away, exposing springs and the netting to prevent falls was absent.Friendly Reception, very helpful. Overall good value, esp if you like hot water :-)

Room Tip: Unit # 1 is next to the Pool, noisy kids swim pretty early :-)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Kia Ora Colin, thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Unfortuantely the roadworks are out of our control but are all meant to be over in the next few weeks. We have a wonderful new brick wall that goes all around the pool area and front of our property so that is shielding us from the works going on. We now have a new Internet router, think the other one must have been overworked and tired due to the heavy holiday usage! The new trampoline has been ordered, this is due in the next few weeks, we thought it better to have it there for our regular holiday stayers than nothing, but your comments have been noted and the old one was taken down on the last day of the holidays. So on your next stay you will see a few changes. Thanks Merryn & Ngata :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a studio for $80. The room was fine. Had a kitchenette with all the usual facilities. Location is ok, about a 5 min drive from the town centre. Staff were helpful and friendly. Free wifi which is always nice. Very reasonably priced. No complaints at all.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Kia Ora, thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Red Rock Thermal Motel and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future. Travel Safe. Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was stayed at the cottage room with my family. Friendly shown around the facilities. The thermal pool were awesome, loved it. The rooms are tiday and clean, has everything you need to make you feel like home, mircowave, cookwares, big TV. I highly recommend this cottage room for family groups.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Kia Ora Ben. Thank you for writing the review, we greatly appreciate your comments. Our Cottage is wonderful for families and groups travelling together. The full kitchen with dishwasher and having 2 toilets is perfect. And with being down the back of the property this keeps its away from any noise ensures a great nights sleep. We look forward to seeing you again - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the larger unit that can sleep up to 6 people. The rooms are spotless and cosy, the water hot and you only need to walk across the road to the garage for any extras to feed the toaster, microwave or hotplate.
The owners are very welcoming and the pools are a wonderful way to relax after a day at Rainbow Springs (you get pretty cold & wet on the great new flume ride) or after a couple of hours in the mud & water of Tough Guy & Gal Challenge.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Kia Ora Donna, thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. We are very lucky to have the wonderful geothermally heated pool and mineral pool here on our premises, a real hit with all of our guests. The shops are great across the road with a Vege, Bakery, Butchery, Dairy & Liquor outlet help to make it easy for our guests, saving trips into town & handy for those with no car too! Glad to hear you enjoyed Rainbow Springs and the Tough Guy & Gal Event. We look forward to seeing you again - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews