We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
23
37
7
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
37
7
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate bedroom an older property quiet spot beds were comfortable full kitchen free wifi cottage unit motel funeral plymouth amenities laundry
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 74 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed three nights in this motel. It is an older style but very clean and comfortable and in a very quiet area adjacent to the Te Henui walkway . Our unit was very spacious and loved having a separate bedroom. The kitchenette was reasonable equipped but the addition of a chopping board would be welcome. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed 4 nights to go to the rugby and have a look at New Plymouth,
While this motel is far from new, care is taken for it to be as clean as possible and rooms are serviced daily. The separate bedroom had a comfortable bed, electric blanket and its own heater. Pillows and bedding were more than adequate.
The kitchen bench was gleaming stainless steel but the cupboards, though well stocked with crockery, cutlery, pots and utensils, were a bit retro to say the least.
Hot water in the shower was plentiful and the plug-in heater did eventually warm the rooms. Leaving windows open to avoid condensation meant it was a little chilly at times.
TV appeared to be mainly Freeview, with Trackside, Shopping Channel and CCTV the only Sky channels, and the channel numbers were not the same as in the folder provided.
Parking was right outside the unit door but turning was difficult, and next to impossible on the Saturday night when all spots were taken.
Timandra St is right opposite Pukekura Park raceway and just off the main road south, but the motel is next to Aotea Reserve, beautifully quiet, and the view of tui in the trees in the morning was appreciated.

Room Tip: Unit 5 was at the far side from the street so could not have been quieter.
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Timandra and found it spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Probably the best shower in any motel we have stayed in. Handy to everything we needed. Will be back.
We had a one bedroom unit and it was very spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staying at the Timandra Motel in New Plymouth is very relaxing and peaceful, yet close to the City centre. I have been staying at the Timandra Motel for a few years now and find the room I stay in which is located right next door to reception is very spacious. Pete and Stu the owners, are always very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The decor at this motel is dated but the unit was large and extremely clean. Good value for the rate. Nice, quiet location. Fresh daisies in the unit was a nice touch. Free milk on check in was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixsilverstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews