We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a little pricy for a cheap hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
wichita falls, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a little pricy for a cheap hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The flamingo was a little pricy for a not so great hotel. The furniture and linen were clean but old looking. Parking was a little odd to say the least. the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emohsain45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
22
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This motel is a little in modernised but was clean and welcoming. The hosts were friendly and the breakfast was fair. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the free paper delivered to the door was a welcome touch as were the tourist info sheets

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The rooms are of an older style but are very clean and comfortable. The room I stayed in consisted of a separate kitchen, bedroom and lounge area. The room was heated and had a flat screen TV in both the lounge and bedroom. As mentioned, the fittings and decor were old but well looked after.

The owners are very friendly and a newspaper is delivered to the room every morning. tea & coffeee making facilities in the room are pretty standard.

It is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of New Plymouth and about 10 minutes to the coastal walkway.

Recommended if you are looking for a comfortable but reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaPvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We (three adults and a child) fitted comfortably in our street-facing two-bedroom unit which features a spacious lounge as well. Devon Street is a major thoroughfare which made the street-facing bedroom rather noisy. The whole place is pleasant, clean, and managed by friendly, helpful owners. There is plenty of entertainment for the children, with an indoor pool, outdoor pool, trampoline, and play area. Our 8-year old loved it. The kitchen equipment worked and the chocolate fish were a nice touch. My one and only gripe is the really outdated, very basic bathroom: a small, rather reluctant showerhead over a small tub, with a very basic basin, and no amenities (apart from little cakes of soap). Shampoo/conditioner should at the very least be provided as well.

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

We stayed 2 nights in late january and were pretty satisfied with our choice. The accomodation was maybe a little old fashioned, but it was comfortable and clean, the pool was very pleasant and there was a garden area with a barbecue. The location was quiet (we weren't near the road) and we walked into town along the coastal path. It was a little further than we had hoped however, though we resisted the temptation to drive into town.The owners were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

Max (the host)was there to receive us and made sure we settled in comfortably.Additional towels were provided for pool use.He also showed us where we could wash our car.

A self-service coin-operated laundry facility, a heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming pool, and also a playground with a big trampoline...

Our 2-bedroom unit(Type B) was tidy and clean.The lounge was spacious and had a private courtyard.

A short drive to town.Our unit was facing the main road so could hear the traffic sound.

......and we loved the complimentary chocolate covered marshmallow!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherryto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.7 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.0 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.6 km away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
5.8 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 355 Devon Street West, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Plymouth
#3 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#13 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Motel New Plymouth, New Zealand - Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing