We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
169
44
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
44
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal walkway beach walk walking distance to town short stroll beds were very comfortable modern bathroom heat pump bedroom unit an easy walk road noise a great stay central location would stay again barb lloyd motel bikes
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 217 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Lovely clean motel. Great location. Had a message from home in the UK and needed help with emails/scanning documents and Babs (I think that was here name) helped and even witnessed my signature to enable us to send a document home for one of our sons. Made the stay even more comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Hi Nigel,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on The Dawson Motel. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Here at The Dawson Motel we are happy to go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. We are glad to of helped any stresses of being so far from home.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time overseas

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

I'm finicky and fussy. The Dawson was faultless. Whoever designed it was an expert. Whoever built it was a craftsman of the highest degree. Loved the large glass-walled shower, with high-pressure! Fittings and furnishings all perfect. I appreciated the soft-close toilet seat: a rarity in commercial property. Front desk & cleaning are super-friendly & efficient.

Almost forgot: HongKong take-away around the corner is yummy!

Room Tip: suite if possible
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishnenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Thank you for such an amazing review on The Dawson Motel, we are thrilled with all the praise you have given us! We get a lot of people commenting on how fantastic our water pressure is! We will make sure to pass on to our staff your comments, they all pride themselves in their work and will be very pleased to hear your thoughts!

We hope to have you stay with us again

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Dawson Motel for two nights last week. There was absolutely nothing we could fault and the standard of housekeeping was second to none. A really thorough clean after our first night really impressed and the bed was made properly - not just pulled up. All the staff were very friendly and the water pressure in the shower was great. Unfortunately, it was VERY windy, but guess we cant blame the motel for that! Very well situated and withing easy walking distance of great walkways and the city.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Hi Mary. Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review on The Dawson Motel.
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our cleaners take pride in ensuring all rooms are at the top quality -both when cleaning for new arrivals or servicing. We like to make it as if you are walking into the room for the very first time all over again.
We hope you enjoyed your trip and the weather didn't stop you from enjoying your time.

We hope to have you again,

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018

Check in was a breeze, efficient and friendly.Our room was very spacious (we had a studio with king and single beds). The beds were very comfortable. The furnishings and decor are stylish. The kitchen was well equipped. Great bathroom with a decent shower. There was virtually no outside noise. The until was spotless. Great location. Asked for a late checkout half an hour before checkout and was very kindly accomodated. This place is awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Hi Cynthia,

Thank you for your wonderful review on The Dawson motel. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We like to make sure the rooms are comfortable and have all the conveniences of being at home. We are more than happy to try and accommodate early check ins or late check outs so we are glad this was appreciated.

We hope to have you stay again

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly customer service.
The room is very clean and quiet. Great blackout blinds, double glazed opening windows and air con.
Great amenities, fantastic shower and water pressure.
Great central location, an easy walk to everywhere.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank affalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for you lovely review on The Dawson Motel. We are hearing a lot of great feedback lately about how wonderful the air con is especially on these hot days!! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews