We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$88
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The State Hotel(New Plymouth)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lockwood Manor Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auto Lodge Motor Inn(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$91
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abode on Rimu Bed and Breakfast(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
145
89
13
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
89
13
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt restaurantacross the roadthe penthousecoastal walkwaywind wandocean viewin house restaurantoverlooking the waterroom was largegood sizewater fronttwo blockscomfortable bedrestaurant staffclose to shopsexcellent locationpuke ariki
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 268 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2016

My husband and i stayed only one night here, but we were very comfortable in our modern spacious room. Lovely clean bathroom, large king sized bed and a small balcony. We didnt eat at the restaurant but we did enjoy great service at the bar for happy hour.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetosash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at Millennium Hotel New Plymouth Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2016

Hello Jetosash,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers.
We are delighted you had a great time at the hotel and found our cleanliness and service to be first class.

We appreciate your business and wish you all the best,

Regards
The Waterfront Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

A very enjoyable dinner with very attentive staff.Very pleasant decor and a good selection on the menu although it wasn't extensive. Unfortunately it was a rainy night so we didn't get the view which would be awesome during daylight. Would definetly recommend this restaurant

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank _marganne5203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at Millennium Hotel New Plymouth Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for dining in our Hotels restaurant and for the very positive feedback.
The team will take great satisfaction in knowing you had a nice experience.
The views can be amazing if the weather is nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016

Web site promised lovely views. The only sea view we had was a glimpse down the busy side street our room was located on. No double glazing so loud street noise compounded by noisy party 3 rooms away from ours. Bed was comfortable and room clean although we seemed to have been put in a disabled room!! A spa bath would have been nice and again was mentioned in web site as available in most rooms. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors quieter. Away from road noise. Be specific when asking for balcony, spa bath or sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at Millennium Hotel New Plymouth Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Hello Stephen

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you felt noise to be an issue during your stay.
You should have called our manger and we could have dealt with the loud room down the hall. We would have put a stop to this right away.
You were in our entry level room and these rooms do not have sea views or a bath, i believe you booked this online. Its always best to call the hotel direct to speak to us. This way we can offer a more personalised service and often upgrade you.
We do pay high commissions to website booking engines, so calling direct allows us to discount your room rates or offer free upgrades, either way its better for the consumer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016

We just called in on the off chance of a room and were lucky to be offered a discount rate of $160. Our room was on the 1st floor where their restaurant Salt is. Lovely room with tasteful decor and quiet. Wonderful king size bed. We did have a ocean view when standing on the small deck. But the reality is if you don't want to look into a building or a group of shops then go for the front rooms for that full unrestricted ocean view ( of course this will cost more). Shower pressure great and the bathroom was big enough for a bath which sadly it didn't have. It is next door to the information centre, museum and handy for shops and opposite is the extensive boardwalk along the coast line. We had breakfast at Salt, prices were similar to cafe prices. I had porridge, while my husband had muesli with berries, both were large helpings and very tasty. Staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Best view are the front room. Salt is popular on Friday & Saturday Night - so book for dinner.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at Millennium Hotel New Plymouth Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Thank you Kangab for your review.

Its great to hear you had a great time while staying with us.
We appreciate your custom and we hope to see you again one day soon.

best wishes,
The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Great location by the waterfront and close to the gallery, cafes and restaurants. We didn't pay extra for the ocean view room but we still had a view of the water from our room on the third floor. The room was spacious and comfortable. Sound proofing was good. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and lovely.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floor
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellingkiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at Millennium Hotel New Plymouth Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2016

Thank you Travellingkiwi_11

We appreciate you choosing the Waterfront Hotel for your stay and we are delighted you had a great time.
We wish you all the best and hopefully we will have the chance to host you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews