We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel supported by excellent staff!”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is a great hotel with large comfortable rooms, and an ocean view. It is close to walkways and parks. Add to that the wonderful staff, and it makes for a great stay. We were here for a week, and the staff soon knew what we liked to order, what times we come around etc. They went out of their way to make the conference room comfortable for us, and even when we worked extended hours, checked in often and made sure we had everything we need. Thanks for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk-out balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieM0874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Hello AnnieM

It was our pleasure to be your hosts. Its pleasing to get comments like this from our valued guests. We agree with you, its the staff that make the hotel what it is.
Someone once told me : "A hotel without great staff is just an empty building".

all the best and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Loved this place. Superb location and comfortable rooms. Not as quiet as I like but if you are a good sleeper then no problem. The attached restaurant is excellent as well. The views from the beach out front are great. Tremendous walkway in front of the hotel and you can walk to most town places from its central location. As their saying goes...arrive a visitor and leave as family.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Voodles,
Thank you so much for your comments. Its excellent you had such a great time while staying with us, and to know you felt so welcome and at home here.
all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

My husband and i stayed only one night here, but we were very comfortable in our modern spacious room. Lovely clean bathroom, large king sized bed and a small balcony. We didnt eat at the restaurant but we did enjoy great service at the bar for happy hour.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetosash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Hello Jetosash,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers.
We are delighted you had a great time at the hotel and found our cleanliness and service to be first class.

We appreciate your business and wish you all the best,

Regards
The Waterfront Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

A very enjoyable dinner with very attentive staff.Very pleasant decor and a good selection on the menu although it wasn't extensive. Unfortunately it was a rainy night so we didn't get the view which would be awesome during daylight. Would definetly recommend this restaurant

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank _marganne5203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Hello,

Thank you for dining in our Hotels restaurant and for the very positive feedback.
The team will take great satisfaction in knowing you had a nice experience.
The views can be amazing if the weather is nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Web site promised lovely views. The only sea view we had was a glimpse down the busy side street our room was located on. No double glazing so loud street noise compounded by noisy party 3 rooms away from ours. Bed was comfortable and room clean although we seemed to have been put in a disabled room!! A spa bath would have been nice and again was mentioned in web site as available in most rooms. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors quieter. Away from road noise. Be specific when asking for balcony, spa bath o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Hello Stephen

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you felt noise to be an issue during your stay.
You should have called our manger and we could have dealt with the loud room down the hall. We would have put a stop to this right away.
You were in our entry level room and these rooms do not have sea views or a bath, i believe you booked this online. Its always best to call the hotel direct to speak to us. This way we can offer a more personalised service and often upgrade you.
We do pay high commissions to website booking engines, so calling direct allows us to discount your room rates or offer free upgrades, either way its better for the consumer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We just called in on the off chance of a room and were lucky to be offered a discount rate of $160. Our room was on the 1st floor where their restaurant Salt is. Lovely room with tasteful decor and quiet. Wonderful king size bed. We did have a ocean view when standing on the small deck. But the reality is if you don't want to look into a building or a group of shops then go for the front rooms for that full unrestricted ocean view ( of course this will cost more). Shower pressure great and the bathroom was big enough for a bath which sadly it didn't have. It is next door to the information centre, museum and handy for shops and opposite is the extensive boardwalk along the coast line. We had breakfast at Salt, prices were similar to cafe prices. I had porridge, while my husband had muesli with berries, both were large helpings and very tasty. Staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Best view are the front room. Salt is popular on Friday & Saturday Night - so book for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Thank you Kangab for your review.

Its great to hear you had a great time while staying with us.
We appreciate your custom and we hope to see you again one day soon.

best wishes,
The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Great location by the waterfront and close to the gallery, cafes and restaurants. We didn't pay extra for the ocean view room but we still had a view of the water from our room on the third floor. The room was spacious and comfortable. Sound proofing was good. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and lovely.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellingkiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Thank you Travellingkiwi_11

We appreciate you choosing the Waterfront Hotel for your stay and we are delighted you had a great time.
We wish you all the best and hopefully we will have the chance to host you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
330 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
169 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: $139 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, New Zealand - Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing