We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service, but nice room.”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with my wife and kids. Greeted by a professional yet unwelcoming young lady. Was asked to pay on arrival for our stay, usually been given the option of paying during or on check out everywhere else we have stayed. Got the impression she thought we were poor. Entered our room and it was set up as 2 X double beds, so my wife went to see about getting it sorted so the kids had a bed each. Once again talking to the young lady who made a point of saying "I'll just read through your correspondence and see what you have booked". Well it says 2 adults and 2 kids! How much do you need to read? Anyway she arranged for a housekeeper to come and change the beds. The housekeeper informed us that she had informed the lady on the front desk that our room was set up wrong when she saw us checking in. So the front desk knew our room wasn't right while we were on the way to our room! That's pretty bad service. So basically we never used the restaurant due to this bad experience, usually while traveling with the kids we'd spend around $60 on breakfast and $160ish on dinner, X that by 3 and that's what bad service has lost your business, also the fact that we won't be staying here again. Anyway without banging on, the room was large, clean and tidy. Bit of road noise due to the port traffic and great views.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Fraser W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Hello Fraser,

I am sorry to hear you thought your room was made up incorrectly.
However this was not the hotels wrong doing.
You booked via a 3rd party website and the info we received from them for the booking only stated that 4 people were coming, so naturally we left the room made up as 2 x double beds. Normal practice for us, unless a request is made otherwise.
You should have put in a special request in the (appropriate field) saying 2 x kids and that you require 2 x single beds.
When you arrived the staff made every effort to have to beds re made to suit your needs, which is great service, perhaps we should have communicated this more clearly and the situation may have been different, for this we are sorry.
On a positive note its nice to know you found the room to be of great size, clean and tidy with great views.
If you wish to contact our GM directly please do so on 0508 843 9283 and her name is Heather Cardon or email Heather@waterfront.co.nz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

There was not much to fault about our stay we only stayed one night but we loved it the room was worm quite comfortable big and the view was amazing in the morning then the cooked breakfast matched our high quality dinner we had the night before already planning our next stay a bit longer next time foreshore

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tack U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Hello Jack U.

Hey thank you for the amazing feedback.
We are stoked you had such a great time from the moment you walked through the doors.
We would love to be your hosts again one day.

All the best - The Waterfront and Salt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is a great hotel with large comfortable rooms, and an ocean view. It is close to walkways and parks. Add to that the wonderful staff, and it makes for a great stay. We were here for a week, and the staff soon knew what we liked to order, what times we come around etc. They went out of their way to make the conference room comfortable for us, and even when we worked extended hours, checked in often and made sure we had everything we need. Thanks for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk-out balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieM0874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Hello AnnieM

It was our pleasure to be your hosts. Its pleasing to get comments like this from our valued guests. We agree with you, its the staff that make the hotel what it is.
Someone once told me : "A hotel without great staff is just an empty building".

all the best and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Loved this place. Superb location and comfortable rooms. Not as quiet as I like but if you are a good sleeper then no problem. The attached restaurant is excellent as well. The views from the beach out front are great. Tremendous walkway in front of the hotel and you can walk to most town places from its central location. As their saying goes...arrive a visitor and leave as family.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Voodles,
Thank you so much for your comments. Its excellent you had such a great time while staying with us, and to know you felt so welcome and at home here.
all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

My husband and i stayed only one night here, but we were very comfortable in our modern spacious room. Lovely clean bathroom, large king sized bed and a small balcony. We didnt eat at the restaurant but we did enjoy great service at the bar for happy hour.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetosash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Hello Jetosash,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers.
We are delighted you had a great time at the hotel and found our cleanliness and service to be first class.

We appreciate your business and wish you all the best,

Regards
The Waterfront Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

A very enjoyable dinner with very attentive staff.Very pleasant decor and a good selection on the menu although it wasn't extensive. Unfortunately it was a rainy night so we didn't get the view which would be awesome during daylight. Would definetly recommend this restaurant

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank _marganne5203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Hello,

Thank you for dining in our Hotels restaurant and for the very positive feedback.
The team will take great satisfaction in knowing you had a nice experience.
The views can be amazing if the weather is nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Web site promised lovely views. The only sea view we had was a glimpse down the busy side street our room was located on. No double glazing so loud street noise compounded by noisy party 3 rooms away from ours. Bed was comfortable and room clean although we seemed to have been put in a disabled room!! A spa bath would have been nice and again was mentioned in web site as available in most rooms. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors quieter. Away from road noise. Be specific when asking for balcony, spa bath o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Hello Stephen

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you felt noise to be an issue during your stay.
You should have called our manger and we could have dealt with the loud room down the hall. We would have put a stop to this right away.
You were in our entry level room and these rooms do not have sea views or a bath, i believe you booked this online. Its always best to call the hotel direct to speak to us. This way we can offer a more personalised service and often upgrade you.
We do pay high commissions to website booking engines, so calling direct allows us to discount your room rates or offer free upgrades, either way its better for the consumer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
169 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#7 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: $138 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, New Zealand - Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing