We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The centre of all you need”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This hotel looks a bit old and dated from the outside but wow! When you step inside it is terrific. It is on the waterfront, and even if your room is on the side street you can still see the sea. It is central to everything we wanted and a pleasant 5 minute walk to everything we needed. The coastal walk is straight across the road. Many Asian and other restaurants are a one to two minute walk away and the post office and supermarket a short five minute and 10 minute walk away. The room was large, comfortable and quiet even though the street is busy.
The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The car park is straight out the front door.
This is the only hotel I have ever come across that offers a breakfast alternative (for those that don't want to eat much) of coffee and as much toast as you want for $5/head. A great idea for those who don't want much.
We wish we had the time to stay longer. Next time we will !

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the second level and our balcony looked across quite a busy road and shops an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 542Jane_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Great location easy free parking, very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic view of the sea which is just across the road as is the museum, clean perfect rooms with an excellent breakfast would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The location was brilliant, literally across the road from the coastal walkway and wind wand. Shops, bars and restaurants are a short walk away. Parking was on site under the hotel. The staff were very friendly and happy to chat. The room was large with a large, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jsd26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

From the moment I arrived I felt welcome, both check in and check out clerks were genuinely welcoming friendly and professional (Thank you) Attention to detail transfers through from staff to day core to the high standard of cleanliness. (Well done Cleaning team) The temperature through out the hotel was perfect and the ability to keep our room at the temperature we preferred was much appreciated. Our room was on the top floor which gives views, we had a side room, so our view was only a fraction of the harbor, however being above the street we were not disturbed by pedestrians or traffic at all. The beds were extremely comfortable, not to soft and the pillows well plumped. ample room for the two of us.
Car parking is under cover with easy access to the building and lift.
The only down side I experienced was with the coffee - more per room would be good. Also the milk is the meadow fresh tubs which if you have milk in your coffee three per cup does not go far.

Room Tip: third floor is views. business rooms are second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingturtle_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Wonderful,wonderful,wonderful! Located right on the water with beautiful coastal views and a minutes walk from shops and cafes. What more could you want. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. We ate in the restaurent 'Salt' and the service and food were just amazing. I cannot speak highly enough about this restaurant and hotel. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We stayed in the penthouse at the Waterfront on Thursday night, it was bliss. The welcome from the receptionist(2) was friendly and she offered to show us the rooms available. The sun was streaming in,the room was warm and inviting,as well as immaculately clean. Our penthouse had a double spa bath,just what was needed on a cool winters day. The bed was warm and very comfortable. It was such a great stay,we decided we must come back.

Room Tip: Both Penthouses has expansive sea views fully self contained kitchens and spa baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrine715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

smaller boutique accommodation
superb restaurant , staff who know the menu and describe all the ingredients of the menu
obviously well trained silver service staff
accommodation rooms are very big, huge big comfy bed
very minimal traffic noise, really had to .,listen to hear any external noise t
big bathrooms
good housekeeping standards
very attentive staff both hosekeeping and reception

Room Tip: ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
330 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
169 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#7 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: $140 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, New Zealand - Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing