We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds. Paper thin walls = noisy units”
Review of Dunrovin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunrovin Motel
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

This motel is great if you’re travelling on a budget, we paid $70 for one night and had a comfortable queen bed to snuggle down into.
We slept very well until the neighbours on both sides woke up at 6am. Sadly the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from people talking to toilets flushing.
It’s next to a busy road and as we were in a unit near the road it was pretty noisy.
The rooms definitely need an upgrade (it was like stepping back in time!!) but the facilities were spotlessly clean and the bed linens were great quality.
I would stay here again at a last resort but wouldn’t go out of my way.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Last minute stop, still building work going on more rooms. Although the room had beds for 4 it does need a bit of TLC. Not far from town and the lake. This was a last minute stop over so we only needed a bed and shower which was adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Good basic motel with two bedrooms in good location near town, lake and restaurants. Was nice and quiet and beds comfortable. Plenty of room for parking. Nothing flash but quite adequate, clean and spacious.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bullit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Dunrovin Motel is located not far from the town centre. Our host was so lovely- both welcoming and attentive. She was so keen to make sure we had a fantastic time during our stay in Taupo.

All facilities were great, clean and cosy (plenty of room for families I'm sure as there was just two of us!) I slept very well and it was nice that my cousin and I had a room each rather than sharing as we had for most of our trip. So great value for money. :)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MitziWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We had a great time staying in this motel. Excellent service. A great view of the lake and the mountains. We will definitely come back. Thanks to Shan for a good service. Very much appreciated.We were arriving late and leaving early so really only a bed (or four) were needed. We found a lovely hotel room, wonderful friendly hosts and a great wee gem of a place. Certainly it was on the cheaper side and some of the amenities show this. would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TouristAgency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We had a great time staying in this motel. We were suppose to stay for 1 night only but ended up extending another night. Excellent place for kids. A great view of the lake and the mountains. We will definitely come back. Thanks to Shan for a good service. Very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizaI2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while passing through for one night, it was well priced, clean and tidy, and close to the cbd and lake, the lady at reception was very kind and friendly. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a budget motel

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Phillfone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.7 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.6 km away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#29 of 68 in Taupo
75 reviews
0.4 km away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.2 km away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#34 of 68 in Taupo
59 reviews
0.8 km away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#55 of 68 in Taupo
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunrovin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunrovin Motel

Address: 140 Heuheu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunrovin Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a centrally located motel, 6 minutes walk to the lake and 7 minutes walk to the town centre.We have a peaceful garden and ample off street parking. One of Taupo's original motels established in 1962 we offer units with charm and contemporary features, free wifi, sky tv,all units have cooking facilities. Lockup garage for bikes & motorbikes. 8 ground floor units, 2 Studio, 3 Two bedroom and 3 one bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Dunrovin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing