We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonny is the perfect host!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverview B & B Taupo
Ranked #20 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We rang Bonny on the way to Taupo as we were running late due to the bad weather on The World’s Forgotten Highway. It was no problem and she was waiting for us when we arrived with a mug of tea and a large plate of homemade cakes. We had these while chatting to Bonnie and looking out at the amazing view from her conservatory/sun lounge. Wow... what a view! Her home is beautiful and so tastefully designed. In fact we picked up a few ideas for our own home extension next spring! The bedroom and bathroom were lovely with plenty of storage space and pretty extras to make us feel welcome. Bonny recommended a good restaurant for the evening which was great and on our return she was waiting once more for a chat and cup of tea. The following morning we had an amazing breakfast sitting in the sun lounge and overlooking the river. Bonnie chatted to us about different places to visit on our way to Rotorua and her beautiful cat, suitably named Fluffy, sat and watched us throughout. Bonny has long experience of hosting as she has been in the hotel business for many years. She is friendly and knowledgeable but never obtrusive. There are electric gates to the property so your car is secure all the time.
We really and wholeheartedly recommend this place. Unfortunately we had only booked one night but if we are ever back in the area – this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplepixie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

This is the second time we have stayed with Bonnie, the first in 2008. Nothing is too much trouble.....towels are changed imediately, tea/coffee and wonderful cakes on offer whenever you come back, laundary all done.....in short, a wonderful " home from home".

The house has beautiful views and is well placed for lovely walks.

Couldn't recomend it more!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Really glad I found this B & B, The owner 'Bonnie' has been the the hotel/motel restuarant business all her life. So she know what people expect and want. She has a bueatiful home every thing immaculate.Great view from the back overlooking the river below.You have breakfast with that view.Breakfast is good,no matter what I accidently mentioned 1 day it was there the 2 nd day ( i.e. Beans in tomato sauce, typical english abroad ) A warm welcome awaits you with tea/coffee and cakes. Even when you come back from eating out, 'do you want anything?' she will ask. A big lounge with very comfortable settees and chairs await. Chocolates on your Pillow. Always fresh Towels for the shower or Spa bath.Volunteer's to do your laundry.Good local knowledge with suggestions of what to see or do. We went to see Huka Falls ( A must See ). We meet another couple there who said how lovely the walk back by the River is. We took thier advise and Yes it was a good walk including a steaming stream,which saw people bathing in. Arriving back at Riverview tired . 'Bonnie immediately made us tea and of course cakes. She then took us back to Huka Falls to collect our car.
The day we left she lent us her Golf clubs to have a game at a bueatiful Golf course up the road. She obviously trusted us as she was not there when we returned for our bags and leave her Golf Clubs.
We stayed 3 nights and could have easily stayed longer. You can watch Bungy Jumping from her back Garden Her recommendations for resturants was excellent.
Good security for your car, locking remote gates.
Thank you 'Bonnie' for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.8 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
8.8 km away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 42 in Taupo
200 reviews
2.9 km away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#3 of 42 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
3.5 km away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
5.7 km away
Te Moenga Lodge
Te Moenga Lodge
#11 of 42 in Taupo
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview B & B Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview B & B Taupo

Address: 184 Spa Road | Taupo Central, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My home is close to all tourist attractions, and the town,cafes golf courses,lake. Sitting on top of the Great Waikato River,where you can watch the kayaks, and other activities on the river.I only take one booking per enquiry, no sharing.There are 2 bedrooms and a private bathroom. Cooked or continental breakfast is served in the Sunroom,on the deck, or in the dining room (depending on weather) I have central heating, double glazing,electric gate entrance,safe parking.flat section,a modern comfortable home for you to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing