We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
28
42
25
24
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
42
25
24
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ritz basic facilities nothing flash kitchen cabin mini fridge would stay here again couple of nights a great stay hosts
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 153 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

I read a couple of negative rates here and was surprised that this motel was not that bad at all. I don’t know what the people who write negative reports do really expect from a motel.. It’s no a five star resort but for a motel it was comfy. The staff was really nice and ready to help. Good price for currently overpriced Taupo.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank rbalashov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

We stayed in a kitchen cabin again and it suits us perfectly! Once again our room was immaculately clean- yes they are dated and basic but the super cheap price means more shopping money! If all you need is a clean place to sleep then it's a great choice. The showers and toilets are also very clean. The lovely hosts made us feel very welcome, and there is a really friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be back again next year.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tracylee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

If you’re looking for a simple place to stay with a lovely, friendly and welcoming atmosphere then this is the place for you.

The owners are beyond helpful - even accepting us into a cabin way after their office closed - helping us out of a pickle!

They even allowed us to have a late checkout despite being there at their busiest time. Honestly, you won’t regret staying here! We even booked an extra night because we were so happy.

The facilities are not the style of that at the Ritz hotel but when you see the price, you can’t expect outstanding luxury. However, when looking at the price, this is one of the better places I’ve stayed in.

The showers are big, spacious and clean with a separate changing area where your stuff doesn’t get wet!!

The cabins are cosy and have everything you need to cook a simple meal and get a good night’s sleep.

I would definitely recommend this place and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jessisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

Cheap but not cheerful. Room smelled damp and had to air it before we could sleep it. The bunk beds were flimsy and moved every time a child rolled over. Shower full of hair and no hand soap available.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank TraceyP1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

Booked to stay here for the night. Arrived to a dirty, smelly room. Stained sheets, hair on the bed. Set me in a panic attack! Went to office said I wasn't happy to stay there and explained why. No refund given and had to pay to stay elsewhere. Would NEVER recommend this place to anyone ever

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HeatherS4888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews