We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely wonderful food!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vine Eatery & Bar

Vine Eatery & Bar
Ranked #13 of 128 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our talented chefs invite you to indulge in the dishes that have inspired our Mediterranean & NZ influenced menus. Our extensive tapas menu is designed to be shared, and we also offer a full a-la-carte menu for those wanting a more NZ traditional approach to dining. There's awesome Allpress coffee if you just want to relax and a full bar specializing in whisky, craft beer and a huge wine selection reflecting over 25 years in hospitality and wine Along with the many varying areas to enjoy, we have private areas such as 'The Balcony' and 'The Vintage Room' upstairs for groups of ten or more. Specialising in Long Table Shared Plate Dinners' makes Vine Eatery & Bar the perfect place for larger groups who are looking for something a little different and entertaining. For this we offer affordable $45 to $65 including a full tapa menu at $49. All options include dessert and can be paired with some great beverage options. For more casual gatherings we have some amazing platters full of fresh delicious meats, seafood and local produce. Open daily from 11am - Coffee by the fire, lunch, dinner or a drink and catch-up with friends, we look forward to hosting you soon.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very tasty food with delightful combinations and amazing flavours in each dish.The dessert was sensational Shared plates for the table added to the dining experience as did the friendly attentive service and recommendations of the waiter.
Lovely surroundings, exceptional food and great service would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alison a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    147
    60
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Based on reviews stopped here for lunch on Monday, had 3 plates between 2, calamari, prawns in cassava and pork belly. All were fine and tasted OK (pork had obviously been pre-cooked and then microwaved, would have been better if it was fresher), but nothing blew me away. So it's OK, service was good and atmosphere nice - its worth a visit, but note about $51 for 2 with 2 soft drinks.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best meal in NZ.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great atmosphere, great wine and AMAZING food. We went as a group of 8 and shared a range of meals, all of which could not be faulted.

The best place in Taupo by far, and would be hard to beat in NZ.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taffyjonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection of dishes and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The tapas style of menu hit the mark for us, as we were after a selection of food but also a decent meal!

Everything we ordered was superbly cooked, and although they recommend two plates each, this was too much for us; our original suspicion that three would be enough would have been right, though it's never too tricky to enjoy a bit too much good food!

The selection of wine available from the menu was good (and reasonable) and they also let you buy a bottle from the other side of the store (a wine cellar) which is a nice touch, though they do charge a corkage fee which is a tad cheeky given that they sold you the bottle!

I would definitely come back here - a welcome to change to cafes and pub food!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thingyjiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“An excellent food and wine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Taupo is a bit of a one horse town and we had an ordinary meal on night one, but we were delighted to stumble on this gem. Excellent wine, great ambience and superb food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vine Eatery & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Vine Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing